Revival

re·viv·al  n.  A restoration to use, acceptance, activity, or vigor after a period of obscurity or quiescence.

I’ve been thinking for quite some time that I need to revive my little blog. I’m not exactly sure why I stopped blogging regularly… I suspect that my Facebook obsession might have something to do with it. When you post several times a day (okay, sometimes several times an hour!) about every minute detail of your life, for all the world to see, it seems kind of redundant to then write blog posts about the same things. Although, my wise father said to me once, years ago, when he noticed Facebook taking over that “Facebook is no replacement for your blog!” And, in many ways, he was right.

Lately I’ve been missing my blog and the act of blogging. So, even if some of my posts might seem “redundant,” I’ve decided I don’t care. I love Facebook, and have no plans to quit posting there, but there’s something more personal and more fulfilling about writing blog posts. Maybe it’s because there seems to be a lot of criticism lately on Facebook, about what one should post… how much information is too much information? Does anyone really care what you had for breakfast or that it’s snowing outside your window or that you’re tired or that you hate your dogs/children/husband/coworkers today? Honestly, the judgment and criticism wears me out sometimes. I hate that every time I post a new status, there’s a little voice inside my head saying, “should you really post that, Erin? What will THEY think??” I realize that my blog is just as public as my Facebook timeline (MORE public, actually), but still it feels “safer” here… my little corner of the Internet, my rules… love it or leave it. Easy enough, right? Plus, blogging was always therapeutic for me in the past. So, while I love to know that other people read and sometimes even like what I post, mostly I’m doing this for me. Because a girl can never have too much therapy!

I’ve been thinking that my New  Year’s resolution would be to revive my blog, and mean it, and keep up with it for a change. But, tonight, I was inspired and thought, “why wait for the new year??” So, here I am, wayyyy past my bedtime, blogging.

And it feels good. 🙂

 

This entry was posted in blog, me, randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Revival

  1. Linda Jessee Mills says:

    Welcome back, Erin…..

  2. Erin says:

    Thanks, Aunt Linda! 🙂

  3. Becki says:

    I’ve missed you!

  4. Emily says:

    Yay! 🙂

Leave a Reply

