Bout of Books: Day One Update

On Day One, I almost finished my first book, The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe. (I actually finished it this morning, the morning of Day Two… ehhh, technicality!)

I had started The Sweetest Dark about two weeks ago… got halfway through it, and then life got in the way. Even though I was enjoying it, it sat for over a week without being read. So,  yesterday, I went back and started over and read the whole book.

sweetestdark

I gave it 4 of 5 stars on GoodReads. Definitely a good read… really loved the world that was created for us, with the whole supernatural dragon thing taking place in the past. And I positively adored the main character, Lora. She was snarky and a smartass and never quite let anyone get the best of her. Also, I really liked her relationship with Sophia… her enemy at the beginning of the book, who surprisingly became almost a friend. What I liked the least about the book was the whole dragon thing. I know, I know… why read a book about dragons if you don’t like dragons?? For me, the characters and relationships in the book just took over, and I found myself not really caring for the supernatural aspect of it. But I do appreciate that it’s part of the story/world, and I’m looking forward to learning more about Lora and her dragon in future books!

When I finished The Sweetest Dark this morning, I immediately moved on to the next book on my Nook… switching gears with a Contemporary New Adult (my new favorite genre), One Week Girlfriend by Monica Murphy. I read several chapters of this book before I fell asleep today… and I’m loving it so far!!

This entry was posted in books, Bout of Books, Read-A-Thon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

