How about some randomness??

I’m really kind of upset with myself. Because I’ve been saying for a while now that I’m going to revive my blog and start posting regularly again… even if it’s stupid, mundane, random junk. And even if some of it is repeats of what you’ve already seen on Facebook. But I’ve pretty much failed miserably at this revival.

I have a lot of extra time on my hands at work these days, too. Sitting here for hours and hours at night with nothing better to do! But I don’t have easy access to photos and other things that I usually use on blog posts. So, how about just some good old random thoughts to maybe get this party started again?

Random Thought #1: Third shift has been ridiculously dead at work this week. Ri-dic-u-lous-ly. Out of this 40-hour week, I think I’ve maybe actually worked about 4 or 5 hours. What do I do with the other 35-36 hours?? Ummm, chat with my co-worker; catch up on episodes of The Voice and The Following and Nashville; refresh Facebook a million times only to get depressed when the same post keeps showing up on top (you know, because normal people are SLEEPING in the middle of the night, not posting on Facebook); play Candy Crush Saga and want to throw my phone across the room as a result; think a lot about reading (but never actually do it because I abhor reading at this uncomfortable desk); and look for a new job.

Random Thought #2: My dad, his wife, and my Granny are making the trip from Georgia to West Virgina in about a month to visit us for a long weekend. I’m so excited to have them here!! We have a baseball-themed weekend planned… Damon has a game on Saturday (his last regular game of the season), and we’re all headed to Pittsburgh for the Pirates game on Sunday (also Father’s Day, which is pretty perfect). I wish we all lived closer, but I guess the distance and rarity of visits really makes me appreciate them when they happen!

Random Thought #3: My search for a church home is kind of slow going. And that’s totally my fault. Last week, I was honestly just too lazy on Sunday morning to get up and GO. I beat myself up about it for most of the day, and then came to the conclusion that this isn’t going to happen overnight for me. I’ve spent the last 37 years not going to church regularly, not praying, not believing, etc. And although I sincerely DO want to change all of that, it’s going to take time. And I need to not be so hard on myself. Even if I’m not IN church every Sunday morning, there’s been a tremendous change inside of me already… and I’m the only one who can know and appreciate that. I’ll get there, one step at a time.

Random Thought #4: Why do I always feel like when I do these “Random Thoughts” posts, I have to have FIVE of them??

Random Thought #5: I’m looking forward to some quality time with my favorite three people this weekend. Life has gotten so hectic and crazy for us now that I’m working full time (and third shift, no less!) and Nick’s new position at work requires that he put in a lot of overtime. Some days I feel a ridiculous amount of Mommy Guilt because it seems like the kids are always on their own… Even if I’m physically there, I’m sleeping most of the time. I know Nick has to work today, and I’ll have to take a nap at some point since I’ve worked all night. But, even so, I’m hoping that at SOME point this weekend, the four of us can connect and have a little family time! I miss those people.

This entry was posted in randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

