Readathon – Hour 20 Mini-Challenge: Haiku

Hour 20! If you’re reading this, and furthermore planning to participate in this mini-challenge, I tip my hat to you… you hardcore readathoner! 😉

I tried to come up with a fairly easy challenge, yet one that would allow you to use a little creativity at the same time. So, without further ado… let’s HAIKU!!!

Your challenge during Hour 20, should you choose to accept it, is to write a simple haiku. And you have two choices for subject matter/inspiration:

1. Write a haiku about a book you’re currently reading or have read at some point during today’s readathon; or

2. Write a haiku about Dewey’s Readathon, in general.

Easy enough, right?? To be honest with you, I haven’t written a haiku since I was in grade school, and I’m not even sure I know the “official” rules involved. I remember something about three lines, with syllable counts of 5-7-5. Try to stick to that, just to make it easy on ME (it’s 3am in my part of the world!). But, honestly, I won’t discount you if you’re a syllable or two off, especially since from my Internet research on this topic, those syllable counts probably aren’t all that important in the world of hardcore haiku-ing.

Please leave a link to your haiku, or you can just put the haiku itself, in the comments to this post. Also make sure you leave some form of contact info, either an email address or twitter name, something so I can contact you if you’re the winner of this challenge.

And, speaking of winning, the prize for this is a book of your choice (valued at less than $20USD) from The Book Depository. You browse, find your dream book, and I’ll buy it and have it shipped to your door. Easy peasy!

Happy Haiku-ing, Everyone! And thanks for playing along! 🙂

UPDATE: Winner of this challenge is Melissa (@avidreader12) with this haiku about Bridget Jones’ Diary:

Silly British girl
So lost looking for her love
Finally finds Darcy

Thanks for playing!

This entry was posted in books, Read-A-Thon, uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Readathon – Hour 20 Mini-Challenge: Haiku

  1. Pingback: Dewey's Read-a-Thon » Hour 20 – The Gift of Gigglesnorts

  2. My Haiku:
    Zom-B walks around/
    The City of London, and/
    Finds a Creepy Clown.
    (inspired by Zom-B City by Darren Shan)
    heehee that rhymes too! How is that for creativity at 2am! =)

    a.librarians.library[at]gmail[dot]com

  3. Melissa says:

    Mine is about Bridget Jones’s Diary. I needed something funny to keep me going …

    Silly British girl
    So lost looking for her love
    Finally finds Darcy

    That’s the best I can do at 3 am : ) Thanks for hosting this one!

  4. Mia says:

    Ah, I think even my tired brain might be able to manage this’n. Let’s see, earlier my co-blogger and partner in Read-a-Thonning were reading Rain, by VC Andrews, aloud to each other for entertainment purposes. Ahem:

    Rain, Rain, go away.
    Your bad similes make me
    Cry like drops on…ears?

    (For reference: https://twitter.com/realpenryn/status/328274880585953281)

    figwiggin-at-gmail-dot-com

  5. agnesmack says:

    I should go to bed
    Instead, I’ll stay up reading
    Noble? No — stubborn.

  6. To marry a Duke,
    Marquess, Earl, or a Viscount,
    Have lots of money.

    – inspired by To Marry an English Lord, by Gail MacColl and Carol McD. Wallace
    http://perpetualspiral.blogspot.ca
    ptspiral@gmail.com

  7. agnesmack says:

    Ahh, sorry, I forgot to leave my email address: It’s agnesmack at agnesmack dot com.

  8. stacey says:

    aesop shows us wisdom
    enjoy the humor as well
    just right for hour twenty

  9. Pingback: Gettin’ My #Dewey On! #Readathon | A Librarian's Library

  10. A demon’s afoot
    A little girl will be lost
    the priest will save her.

    The Exorcist, in case it isn’t obvious. 😉

    Thanks!

    truebookaddictATgmailDOTcom

  11. Sitting on the floor
    Reading with food and book friends
    This is MY Dewey.

    I always love this challenge! I’m @Bookshop_Girl on Twitter. 🙂

  12. Mrs. Soule says:

    Here’s mine for Fool for Love by Eloisa James:

    She wants kids but won’t
    Expect love. He is in love
    And will convince her.

    My twitter name is @MrsSouleReads.

  13. Nolatari says:

    Old New York City,
    Murder, Midwife, and Copper
    Brought smiles all night long.
    — “Murder on Astor Place” by Victoria Thompson

    Nolatari
    phrenetic.mind@gmail.com

  14. Lucy says:

    This is a hard one, but I think it helped wake me up 🙂 Thanks for hosting this fun mini-challenge!

    Keep your eyes open
    Finish your book for Dewey
    One more book tonight

  15. phooey, I left the wrong link. it’s http://perpetualspiralreviews.blogspot.ca Sorry. Brain has been shutting down gradually for hours!

  16. Mine is about Peanut by Ayun Halliday

    New school changes her
    A new allergy and lie
    Will show true friendship

    Twitter @bookgoil

  17. stilettostorytime says:

    A girl who was real
    Learning there is no such thing
    And wanting more still

    Book for Inspiration: “Mila 2.0” by Debra Driza

    Thanks so much for the challenge…I can’t remember the last time I wrote a haiku but I think I may have had pigtails! Have a great last few hours of readathon!

    Courtney
    Stiletto Storytime
    @stiletostrytime

  18. Another page leads
    to another chapter. Each
    page read feels divine.

    Quite proud of that.
    samjaymc(at)gmail(dot)com

  19. Erin says:

    Love reading all of your haikus! Thanks for participating!! Hour 20… you guys are AMAZING! 🙂

  20. Woe! I was poisoned.
    Always hurt the one you love.
    I’m an idiot.

    And there is your nutshell version of Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb. 😀

  21. Dreamybee says:

    Science and magic:
    Cheesemakers thrill when it all
    Creates love and bliss.

  22. bybee says:

    Wow! Two For The Dough!
    Grandma Mazur is badass!!!
    Now: Book number 3.

  23. Pingback: Dewey's Read-a-Thon » Hour 21

  24. Tea says:

    Sunce se radja
    Ostali smo cijelu noc
    Ja, on i knjiga

    Hi, from the beautiful Croatia. This is written in my native language because this amazing event is global, you should be proud of it and it should be celebrated..! ❤

    It says:
    (The sun is rising/ We stayed all night/ Me, him and the book)

  25. Zlobo says:

    On this special day
    I read my book, know no rest
    I am so hungry

    Seriously, somebody please feed me…. 😦

  26. My eyes are tired
    From reading a lot of books
    I’ll catch sleep later

  27. azuki726 says:

    About The Angel’s Game:
    Lover Under Ice
    A house with deadly secrets
    Angel or Devil

  28. Gnoe says:

    Thank you for this fun interlude! My attempt at a ‘zen moment’ in 5-7-5 syllables can be found at Graasland.

  29. Care of Wooden Floors
    Pay attention to the notes
    Don’t let cats drink wine.

    http://www.curiositykilledthebookworm.net/2013/04/readathon-hour-22.html

  30. The Lost Summer of
    Louisa May Alcott–Ti-
    tle takes up too much…

  31. You must fear me, kids
    I can kill, banish, and stake
    Don’t make me do it

    From School Spirits by Rachel Hawkins

  32. Pingback: Dewey's Read-a-Thon » Hour 22 – William Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

