Anatomy of a layout

I don’t know what’s gotten into me lately… I’ve actually been scrapbooking! And it feels good! 🙂

I now have my computer set up at my scrapbook table, so while I was scrapbooking yesterday and today, I was also simultaneously on Facebook, Twitter, etc. And I had a good time posting pictures of my progress as I created the layouts. So I thought I’d organize them a bit here, in a blog post… just for kicks!

Last weekend, my friend Katie posted  this challenge on Facebook from Quick Quotes. The challenge was to create a Valentine-y layout using non-traditional Valentine colors (no pink, red, white). I had been admiring this layout that I’d pinned on Pinterest a while ago…

layout

and thought that it would work perfectly!! (Original credit goes to Jenny at 2Peas.)

So my first task was to find three pics to use. Lucky for me, I just happen to have three people near and dear to my heart… and I have OODLES of pics of them! Then I found some paper that would work, from Basic Grey’s Picadilly collection (love, love that!). I gathered some Picadilly embellishments that I also had and various other things in the right color group that I thought maybe I could use.

So, this is what I started with:

layout1

And from that a layout developed!

layout2

layout3

Here’s the finished product.

layout4

(Note: you can always click on any pics to enlarge them and see more detail.)

It’s definitely not as fancy schmancy as the original that I was scraplifting. But I noticed as I was doing this that the original layout was created digitally… it’s a lot harder to create those layers and detail when you’re actually using paper!

I think I’ll save today’s creation for another “Anatomy of a Layout” post at a later date! (Hey, gives me SOMETHING to blog about… I’m trying!)

This entry was posted in family, scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Anatomy of a layout

  1. karooch says:

    Love this idea of showing how you pulled together the layout. And it’s good that you showed the original layout you scraplifted. It helps to demonstrate how you can scraplift and still create your own unique layout. Not just copy someone else’s. Thanks for this post.

  2. Erin says:

    I’m so glad you liked it! Thanks for your nice comment! 🙂

  3. I totally love your take on this challenge! Of course, you included a quote. 🙂 So happy to see you scrapping again!!!

  4. Marcia Dehn-Nix says:

    Fabulous layout. Love this design with the X’s and the O’s. So glad you joined us at Quick Quotes for our latest challenge.

  5. Barb says:

    Total cuteness!!! I love the X & O gameboard theme! Thanks for joining our challenge at Quick Quotes this month!

    barb 🙂

  6. Totally awesome scrap lift! We so appreciate your joining the challenge at Quick Quotes!

  7. Lynn says:

    Love the X’s and O’s theme yet you didn’t use traditional colors.. I absolutely love your project. Thank you so much for joining us at Quick Quotes!

  8. Dana Tatar says:

    Super fun page! I love the design. Thanks for joining the challenge at Quick Quotes!

  9. wendyp81 says:

    I think I have that same layout pinned too! You did a fabulous job using it as inspiration! Thanks for playing along with this months Quick Quotes challenge!

Leave a Reply

