2013 Reading Challenges

I love reading challenges. I’m not sure I’ve ever successfully completed one… but the two I’ve signed up for so far this year don’t seem too difficult to keep up with!

First up is the Second Chances Reading Challenge hosted by Literary Escapism.
Second-Chances_200px

I love the idea behind this challenge, which is simply to give an author or book or series a second chance. I’ve started so many series over the years, and then either lost interest or gotten sidetracked by other great books, and I always WANT to go back to them and give them another shot! And there are a few authors that I can think of right off the bat that I really didn’t like but feel like I should have… so I’d like to read other books they’ve written and see if maybe I COULD like them. This challenge sounds right up my alley, and I’m excited for second chances!

And the other challenge I’ve signed up for is the Christopher Pike Reading Challenge hosted by Midnight Book Girl.

ChristopherPikeChallenge

No way could I resist this one as soon as I saw it. When I was a teenager, I devoured every Christopher Pike book I could get my hands on. And a few years ago, I found a ton of them at my local Goodwill store. I bought as many as I could, thinking that my kids might enjoy them as much as I did. And they’re sitting in my closet collecting dust. So I’m looking forward to dusting them off and rediscovering books that I have such fond memories of from my childhood. Of course, I might not like them so much as an adult… lol. Pike has also written lots of other things since those days, and I can’t wait to give those a shot, too!

I’m keeping my eyes open for other, manageable reading challenges for this year. As much as I read, the “challenges” are just another way to have fun with it and meet fellow readers with similar interests. Love that!

This entry was posted in books, challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2013 Reading Challenges

  1. Heather says:

    I love both of these challenges! I do the Goodreads Reading Challenge (failed miserably in 2012), but wasn’t even aware of other types of challenges out there! I, too, loved Christopher Pike’s stuff when I was growing up! I bought a couple of his books for my kids, hoping they would love them too (one was a hit and one was a miss). When I came across them the other day, I thought about reading them myself… a challenge like this might be right up my alley. I have kind of high hopes for old favorites, actually, because I started going back and reading V.C. Andrews late last year and I was thrilled to find that Flowers in the Attic held up for me after all these years. I loved it all over again. Now I should have my own challenge for 2013–to finish the rest of that series!

Leave a Reply

