Comet

I’ve been thinking about writing a post about Comet for almost a month now. Tonight, I actually started to write one… and couldn’t get halfway through. I feel like nothing I could write would come close to describing how much I love and miss him today… or how much he meant to our family in the five short years we had with him.

So, instead of trying to be eloquent or clever, I’m just going to sum it up by saying this…

Almost a month ago, Nick and I made the heartwrenching decision to have our beloved Golden put to sleep. Comet got very sick, very fast… and a visit to the vet resulted in a very grim prognosis. We planned to bring him home and spend a few days loving him as much as possible before we said our final goodbyes. But he was suffering so much. He wasn’t himself and I felt like, in a way, he’d already left us. So, the next morning, we took him back to the vet and with a shaking hand and a very heavy heart I signed papers authorizing the vet to euthanize one of my best friends. Without a doubt, the hardest thing I’ve ever done. If you’d told me even a week before that it would be THAT difficult and that, a month later, I’d still be crying over it, I wouldn’t have believed you.

I hope that one of these days I will be able to write a nicer post, full of “All About Comet” tidbits and photos that will do a better job of memorializing his five years on earth. I want to be able to do that… he deserves at least that much.

Rest in Peace, Mr. Comet. Never forget how much we loved you… and how we hope to meet up with you again someday. They say dogs have no concept of time, and today I’m hoping that’s true. I hope that, for you, it will feel like mere moments from the time we said our final goodbyes until you greet us at Rainbow Bridge. We will never, ever forget you and the unconditional love you always bestowed upon us. You were quite simply the best. XOXO

This entry was posted in Comet, dogs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Comet

  1. Tami says:

    I’m crying along with you. I still get teary over an amazing Springer Spaniel we had to put down over 10 years ago. We have had three more dogs since, and had to euthanize one a year ago. They are family and they never leave you. You have my most honest sympathy for what you’re going through.

    I look forward to hearing the stories of how Comet enriched your family.

Leave a Reply

