Standalong!!

So, last week someone that I follow on GoodReads posted a review of Stephen King’s The Stand. And one of her comments was that it’s her very favorite Stephen King book. And that’s all it took for me to zoom off to barnesandnoble.com and order my very own, uncut copy of this BEAST of a book. (Thank God I’m an ebook junkie, so these 1163 pages don’t weigh any more than a normal-sized book!)

I started reading it while we were camping (and doing lots of relaxing) last weekend. Currently, I’m on page 512.

Today, I was poking around on Twitter and noticed the hashtag #Standalong. There are OTHER people out there reading The Stand right now… and chatting about it on Twitter… and blogging. OMG. I squealed out loud and almost fell off the bed. So, I signed up on the challenge blog (I’m reader no. 29)… and here I am, blogging about this insane book.

Without further ado, let me get to the Standalong Get to Know You questions…

1. What makes you want to read The Stand? I think I already answered this… kind of. I love “big books,” and I’m always intrigued by Stephen King but never really know WHAT of his to read. So when I saw someone mention this book on GoodReads, I jumped at it.

 2. Describe your preconceived notions of The Stand. This is easy. I knew nothing about The Stand before I started reading it. Absolutely nothing. I haven’t seen the miniseries (that I now know exists but didn’t a week ago when I bought the book!). I had no clue WHAT it was about. I just knew it was Stephen King. And it was a loooooooong book. (Proof that I really will read anything!)

3. What was the last scary(ish) book you read or movie you saw? Hmmm. I’m not even sure. When I was a kid/teenager, horror/thriller stuff was all I read. It was all that “gripped” me and made me want to keep reading. As an adult, I’ve kind of gotten away from that. Horror doesn’t really appeal to me much anymore, so I don’t generally seek it out!

4. Which version of the book will you be reading from? I have the uncut ebook version. All 1163 pages of this sucker. I figured if you’re gonna do it, you might as well do it right!

 5. What are you previous experiences with Stephen King? When I was a pre-teen, probably, I read It. And I loved every page of that book… was so invested in those Derry people. Until I got to the end and the “perp” turned out to be a big spider monster something-or-other (I don’t even remember now WHAT exactly it was). Then I just got pissed off and threw the book. I seriously don’t even think I read the last bit of it because I was so turned off by this. I think I wanted “it” to be something more real than that, maybe. The only other SK book I’ve read is Bag of Bones. I read that when it first came out because my dad recommended it. I remember loving it… don’t remember why, however. (I have the most ridiculous, non-existent memory when it comes to books, by the way!)

6. Anything else you’d like to add? Just that I’m sooo excited to have found the Standalong!! I’m nearly halfway through the book at this point, but I have to admit I was losing steam… a little. So now I’m super pumped to have fellow readers along for the second half!!! (Thanks, Trish!)

This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

