The Hunger Games: the movie

I read the books quite some time ago… January 3, 2011 according to GoodReads. I gave the first book 4 stars (out of 5) and didn’t bother to actually write a review of any kind. I remember liking the three books, though… I remember finishing book 2, I think it was, at 2:30am and being so glad that I had a Nook so that I could IMMEDIATELY buy book 3 and begin reading it right then. So, I must have liked the books a little, huh??

But, more than a year later, when the movie opened, I didn’t feel even the slightest bit compelled to wait in a line or go to a crazy midnight showing to see the movie. (Really, I can’t think of ANY movie that I’d ever, ever, ever want to see that badly!!)

A few days after it opened, I went to the Monday afternoon, bargain showing with a friend of mine from work. First of all, going to a movie after you’ve worked all night, and not slept at all? That’s not the best idea, I discovered. And I won’t EVER be doing that again!! But, I did survive and even managed to stay awake through the whole thing, amazingly enough. So, here are my thoughts about the Hunger Games movie…

1. Overall, I liked it. I didn’t walk away thinking, “that was AMAZING” like a lot of people seem to think. But I liked it. And it was damn sure better than any Twilight movie I’ve seen to this point!

2. I’m not sure how people who haven’t read the books are loving the movie. The whole time I was watching the movie, I was thinking, “if I hadn’t read the book, I don’t think this would’ve made any sense.” And there was so much character development left out of the movie that made me sad. Cinna, for example. His part was sooo piddly in the movie… and he was one of my favorite characters in the book. The part in the movie where he’s saying goodbye to Katniss before the Games begin? It was kinda pedophilishly creepy, if you ask me. Having read the book, I kinda/sorta “got it” and knew what they were going for… but without having read the book, how in the world would that have translated?? Haymitch was another example of this. His story was so important to the book, and in the movie it was barely touched on. Hated that. Plus, they had two awesome actors for those roles… I wish they’d used them more!

3. I thought they did an awesome job with the actual Games and the arena, etc. I was having a hard time imagining how that would play out on the big screen, and I was pleasantly surprised. It was actually very similar to how I pictured it while reading.

4. Again, I’m not sure how someone who hadn’t read the book interpreted the “romance” between Katniss and Peeta. After watching the movie, I wasn’t really sure what we were supposed to think about them. In the book, it was much more clear when Kat was playing it up for the cameras and how their relationship went from fake to real and all the stuff in between.

5. And Gale. Holy gee, why did they even HAVE a Gale in the movie??? I loved Gale in the book, and loved his relationship with Katniss. And it was practically non-existent in the movie. Such a waste!!!

I know they only have so much time for a movie… and naturally things are going to get left out. But I still find it extremely disappointing. Bottom line for me is… if you jumped on the movie bandwagon and loooooved the movie, do yourself a favor and read the book.

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hunger Games: the movie

  1. Tami says:

    What she said! I agree with every bit of your review. In fact, I may just copy and paste onto my blog so I don’t have to write my own. 🙂 I enjoyed the movie but, as always, the book contains so much more that couldn’t/wasn’t conveyed in the movie. Most people I’ve talked to who didn’t read the books said that the flashback scenes were especially confusing. Probably the best that could be done in a two-hour time frame, but still short of the book.

Leave a Reply

