Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

On November 8, 2011, I did a very strange thing… I went back to work. Outside of my house. In an office. With people. Not in my pajamas.

After being home for 12 years, this has been a huge shock to my system. And I pretty much feel like my world has tilted on its axis… or, rather, it’s done a few somersaults! But that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

I’m working in downtown Wheeling, WV, about a 40-minute drive from home. And the commute is not horrible. It’s an easy drive down (or up) the river. Easy for now, that is, until snow and ice arrive in the Ohio Valley… and then I might change my tune about the ease of my commute!

I work for an outsourcing company that takes care of document services for large law and financial firms around the world. My particular position is a legal proofreader for a law firm (that shall remain nameless because the Men in Black might jump down and cart me away if I divulge that information) that’s headquartered in New York City. In my office, there are two types of people: document processors and proofreaders. The DPs pretty much create whatever the attorneys (or their minions) request… and we proofreaders go behind them and make sure everything looks right. And we generally pass one project back and forth between the DPs and the proofreaders fifty times before it’s deemed perfect and ready to be sent back to the requestor. It’s quite a process.

Since November 8th, I’ve been in training, learning the ins and outs of how this process works. It’s similar enough to the editing work I’ve been doing for the last 13 years that I don’t feel totally lost. It’s different enough that I’m not totally bored. It’s not in my house, which is a HUGE plus!

For training these past several weeks, I’ve worked a “normal shift”: Monday through Friday, 8am to 5pm. Yesterday was officially my last day of training (YAY!!). So, next week, when I go back to work, I’ll be starting my regular shift, which is Wednesday through Sunday, midnight to 9am. Yes, I’m working nights… and weekends. And I’m not at all sure HOW that’s going to go… but I’ll find out soon enough! Luckily, my husband is now a full-time student, so his daily schedule is more flexible than mine… we’ve pretty much switched places. Now, he’s Mr. Mom, here taking care of the kids and the dogs and the house and making sure everyone eats a couple of times a day. I’m gone from home 11 hours each day, which leaves me feeling very disconnected from my family… and that’s beyond strange, considering I’ve been HERE, with them, for the last 12 years. Huge changes for all of us.

But I am enjoying this new adventure, for the most part. I’m pretty thrilled that, after being home for so long, I actually found a job that is pretty perfect for me. And it seems like a good company to work for, with a nice working environment and good people.

I am kind of missing my pajamas these days, though. We don’t spend nearly enough time together anymore. Maybe once I start working midnights no one will care if I wear flannel??

This entry was posted in me, work. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. Tami says:

    Congratulations on the new job! I totally understand the ch-ch-ch-change! I was home with kids for 10 years. Going back out in the world was exciting, scary, tiring and invigorating all at once. Best of luck on the night shift!

Leave a Reply

