She bounces

I’m sitting here, having an “I-love-my-daughter-so-much-it-hurts” moment… so, naturally, I thought I’d share it with the world.

It’s a typical Saturday night around here. I’m sitting at the dining room table, procrastinating online. Nick just left for a night of DJing. Damon is in his room playing Xbox, chatting on Xbox Live with his friends who are 500 miles away. And Avery? Well, Avery’s camping out on the couch… with every pillow and blanket she can find, she’s created a nest of sorts. She has a bag of Goldfish, and she’s watching Rio (the movie she picked from the Redbox tonight) for the second time this evening.

But five minutes ago, in between her Rio viewings, she was up and running around the house… getting her Goldfish snack ready, feeding the dogs for me… and bouncing and dancing the whole time she’s doing this, with a smile on her face. Of course. Because Avery is always bouncing, dancing, and smiling. I mean ALWAYS. She is, without a doubt, the happiest person I’ve ever known. It takes something really catastrophic to bring her down. And how awesome is that?? I aspire to love life as much as my daughter does.

But I digress.

So, while she’s up, bouncing around and humming and smiling and loving life… she bounced down the hallway and randomly popped her head in Damon’s room and said, “I love you, Bubba!!!!” For no apparent reason. And then she bounced right back out and kept going on her merry, bouncing way.

I can only imagine that Damon looked at her like she had three heads and I’m certain he did not return the sentiment (because, uhhh, he’s on Xbox Live with his friends and that would NOT be cool, duh!!). But Avery didn’t care. She wasn’t looking for anything in return, just wanted to tell her brother that she loves him. And that is so “Avery.”

This entry was posted in Avery, family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She bounces

  1. Tami says:

    Oh, to be young and carefree. We should all aspire to live life with that attitude and to be so contented with the simple pleasures – a cozy spot, snacks and a favorite movie. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

