Bonding with my girl

Last night, I taught my dear daughter how to make friendship bracelets… the way we made them when I was a kid. With embroidery thread and a safety pin and lots of knot tying.

So, she and I sat on the couch with a pillow between us, with our bracelets-in-the-making pinned to the pillow… and we tied knots. And watched the Pirates game.

And this conversation took place:

Avery: Mom? Is this, like, the old-fashioned way to make friendship bracelets?

Me: Well, I don’t know if it’s “old-fashioned…” It’s the way we made them when I was a kid.

Avery: Yeah… the old-fashioned way! You were born in like… the 90s!!!!

Me: Avery… I was born in… the 70s!

Then Avery’s eyes bugged out of her head.

And I thought to myself… it’s a really good thing she’s so cute!

This entry was posted in Avery. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bonding with my girl

  1. Tami says:

    Oh, children! You just gotta love ’em. Or else you would be tempted to trade them for three books from the discount rack at Barnes and Noble, and a bag of chips. 🙂 What if she knew I was born in the 60’s??

Leave a Reply

