Tuesday Tunes

I had no idea what I wanted to blog about that was music-related today. Until I hopped in my car and went to the convenience store down the road and heard this song…

Love Don’t Run by Steve Holy

this is gonna hurt, this is gonna hurt like hell,
this is gonna damn near kill me,
sometimes the truth ain’t easy

i know that you’re scared of tellin’ me somethin’
i don’t wanna hear, baby, believe that i’m not leavin’,
you couldn’t give me one good reason

love don’t run, love don’t hide,
it won’t turn away or back down from a fight
baby, i’m right here,
and i ain’t goin’ anywhere
love’s too tough, won’t give up, no not on us
baby, love don’t run

let’s lay it on the line, i don’t care if it
takes all night,
this is gonna make us stronger,
it’s gonna make forever longer,
i know it’d be easier walkin’ away but,
what we got is real, and i wanna save us,
baby, we can do it, baby, we’ll get through it

cause love don’t run, love don’t hide,
it won’t turn away or back down from a fight,
baby, i’m right here, and i ain’t goin’ anywhere,
love’s too tough, it won’t give up, no not on us
baby, love don’t run

so come over here and lay down in my arms,
baby, tell me everything that’s on your heart,
cause i won’t run, i won’t hide,
i won’t turn away, i just wanna make things right
baby, i’m right here, and i ain’t goin anywhere,
love’s too tough, it won’t give up, no not on us
baby, love don’t run

Nick and I are celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary in less than 2 weeks… and this could absolutely be the theme song of our marriage. We’ve had a lot of ups and downs over the last 12 years, but no matter what, we’ve never “run,” from each other, from our family, from the commitment we made on that hot day 10 years ago.

I think a lot of people go into a marriage/relationship thinking that they’ll stick with that person “no matter what.” But that’s a romantic notion that proves to be easier said than done in a lot of cases. It always amazes me how quick people are to end marriages… even when “bad” things happen. (And I’m not totally anti-divorce… I come from a long line of divorced couples. I do understand that not all relationships are made to last, for whatever reason. So don’t start hating on me, you divorced people! lol) I can tell you that the last 10 years have not always been a walk in the park, for either of us. And I can’t tell you HOW many times I’ve heard advice from friends and family along the lines of… “Leave. Get out. You deserve better. No way could I stay in a relationship after that. That’s not love.” I’m sure Nick has heard similar things at one time or another.

But we’ve survived to this point. Anything “bad” that we’ve gone through has only strengthened our relationship and our commitment to one another, not the opposite. I hope that will always be the case… and that we’ll be celebrating anniversary after anniversary, year after year, until we’re both old and gray… and even more in love than we are today.

I love these guys for writing this song. For acknowledging that relationships aren’t perfect, that bad things happen, that we hurt one another… but, even so, love is stronger than that. And, contrary to popular public belief, you don’t always have to give up when things aren’t going the greatest. You can make up your mind to stay and love and support one another… no matter what. Such a beautiful concept!

This entry was posted in Music, Nickolas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

