Tuesday Tunes

One of my least favorite questions is “What’s your favorite song?”

Really? Is it actually possible for a person to have ONE favorite song? Or even only a dozen favorite songs?? I couldn’t begin to name a favorite song. Music has been such a huge part of my life, on a daily basis… and there are sooo many songs that have special meaning for me, for various reasons.

I love how just hearing a song can take me back in time in a split second… and can remind me of exactly how I felt at any particular time in my life. Here are a few (very random) examples…

Two Princes by Spin Doctors: This song will forever remind me of riding around Europe in a tour bus in the Summer of 1993. I spent 3 weeks that summer with a group of high school band and chorus students, touring 6 countries in Europe. It was a crazy whirlwind of a trip… and my 35-year-old self can’t remember many details anymore (good thing my stepmom told me to keep a journal… that provides lots of laughs today!). But, every time I hear or even think about this song, I’m taken right back there. It was a hit song that summer, and we crazy kids belted it out all over Europe, in the privacy of our tour bus. [Note: It took me FOREVER… I’m talking HOURS… to even find this song. I couldn’t remember the name of the song or the group and could only think of one snippet of lyrics! Countless Internet searches later, and I finally found it! WHEW!]

West End Girls by Pet Shop Boys: Julie. This song always reminds me of my friend Julie. We grew up across the street from each other, and she was the big sister I never had. I’m pretty sure Julie’s house was my second home during my childhood… I have just as many memories in her house and with her family as I do of my own. I don’t know what it is about this song that reminds me of Julie… except that she was a Pet Shop Boys fan in the late 80s! When I hear this song, I picture the peach-colored bedroom that Julie shared with her older sister, Suzie… and I think of Outback Red sweaters and Eastland shoes with the coiled laces! lol

Riding with Private Malone by David Ball: In the summer of 2001, Nick and I were living in a trailer park in Delaware, with our new baby boy. This song was released that summer, and Nick loved it. We had the CD and spent many a night dancing around our living room while listening to it. A few months ago, for some reason, this song came up… and I told Damon about it and how we used to listen to it all the time back in his baby days. Now, he has it on his Playlist, and every time I hear him play it, I can’t help but smile. At the time, I couldn’t know that today I would look back on those days with such longing… and with so many fond memories of that time in our lives. So, this song always reminds me of Nick and our chubby, little baby boy and our first “home.”

I love how just thinking of these songs takes me on a trip down Memory Lane. So I think I’ll do this again…. there are so many songs and memories to revisit!! 😉

This entry was posted in Looking back, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tuesday Tunes

  1. Ellen says:

    There are so many songs that make me think of you….Stay by Lisa Loeb,(OMG! you had that shit on repeat for days!) John Deere Green, and the super fast one by Garth Brooks that we played over and over to learn the words. Oh 1994-95, such musical gems.

  2. Becki says:

    Ellie’s response is too funny. Every time I hear John Deere Green or Calling Baton Rouge, I think of our days in Founders. You got me hooked on country music.

  3. Erin says:

    omg, Ellen… I’m cracking up at Stay by Lisa Loeb! hahaha. Totally forgot that I drove you guys nuts with that one! I do, however, remember John Deere Green and Calling Baton Rouge from our Founders days.

Leave a Reply

