I haz sadness

See those books in my sidebar… over there —–> ?? They just happen to make up one of my all-time favorite series. And I was really excited to see this read-along challenge on GoodReads the other day.

Unfortunately, when I went looking for Stray, so that I could start reading along, I couldn’t find it. Not only could I not find Stray, but I couldn’t find ANY of the books in that series. If it were just one book, I’d think I misplaced it. But an entire series of books?? Not likely. The last person that I can remember loaning them to returned them to me last summer. And I know that I’ve reread them since then, when the final book came out last Fall. So where on Earth are my beloved Shifters books??? I have no clue.

Nick and I have both torn the house apart in the last week. I’ve taken every book off of every bookshelf in the house. I’ve looked in every closet, in every corner, in every cubbyhole… and no Shifters books.

Normally, I would just suck it up and buy the ebooks… since that’s what I read these days, anyway (and I do have the last two of the series, I think, in ebook format). But, the other issue is that two of my Shifters books were signed by the author. I actually met Rachel Vincent at a book signing a couple of years ago, and she signed one of them TO me. That can’t be replaced by an ebook, unfortunately.

So, now, I’m out of ideas of places to check for these books. Really, my house just isn’t that big, and I’ve already looked EVERYWHERE… a few times. I have no recollection of loaning them out to anyone else… and I’m just totally stumped. And sad. Very, very sad.

This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I haz sadness

  1. Kerry says:

    Oh, that totally sucks. I really, really hope you find them. Books like that are precious.

    Ebooks are wonderful. I love ebooks. But for especially favourite authors, I’ll buy both and the chance to have the paper ones signed makes them special possessions beyond just the content. If I only want to content, ebook is great. Ebook is great for the actual reading. But sometimes it’s about the actual, physical artifact as well.

    Like I said, I really hope you find them.

  2. Trish says:

    I am sad too! I know how much you love them.

  3. Tami says:

    I think they’re sitting right next to my copies of the Stephanie Plum series that disappeared when we moved. Not the cheap paperbacks – just the hardcovers. When I find them, I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

