Randomness…

I vowed not to let another week go by without posting on my neglected blog. But, unfortunately, I don’t have anything exciting to report… don’t have any cute, new pics to share. So, this is me, checking in with a lot of randomness tonight.

Random Thought #1: Why does my dog wait until 11pm at night to decide to eat?? Seriously. Comet does this every night, and it continues to boggle my mind. The dogs’ food and water bowls are left out, and full, all the time. So why doesn’t he eat at, ohhhh, 6pm… or 8pm? No. He waits until it’s time to go to bed… and then decides to stand over the food bowl for 20 minutes, stuffing himself. One theory is that Lizzie doesn’t “let” him near the food earlier in the day (she’s a little protective of her food!). Another theory is that Comet’s internal clock is as screwed up as the rest of ours this summer. Probably the best theory is that he’s just a strange animal. Yeah, I’m going with that one.

Random Thought #2: I cleaned our bathroom this evening. (I told you this was going to be random!!) There’s something strangely therapeutic about scrubbing a toilet. It’s definitely not my favorite household chore… although, it’s definitely not my LEAST favorite either… but it’s very satisfying to go into the bathroom and find a sparkling commode. Especially when the rest of the house is a disaster area. At least the toilet is clean!!! And this makes me feel a little better about life in general.

Random Thought #3: I’m beginning to wonder if I’m ever going to actually “move on” with my life and get a real job again. It’s always been my plan to quit working from home and get a “real” job once my kids were both in school full-time. Well, Avery’s going into second grade this Fall… and I’m still here, working from home, doing a job I pretty much loathe (and have loathed for quite some time… this isn’t new!). I don’t know why I’m finding it so hard to make this change. Although, it would be a HUGE change… for me, for Nick, for our kids. Every time I think I’m finally going to take the plunge and do it, I end up talking myself out of it… for a million different reasons. A part of me (a large part tonight!) really wishes I’d quit doing that.

Random Thought #4: My kids aren’t babies anymore… and I don’t count down ’til bedtime like I did years ago, because after a long day of being at their beck and call, that was my time for peace and quiet. I’m not at their beck and call so much these days because they’re older and more independent. But there’s still something magical about the first few minutes after everyone is tucked into bed… and the house is silent, other than the fish tank bubbling.

And, on that note, I should probably quit thinking random thoughts and get back to work!!

This entry was posted in randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Randomness…

  1. Becki says:

    Come visit us. I’m sure you’ll find lots of cuteness . . . and I know what you mean about a clean bathroom. I’m with you on that one!

Leave a Reply

