True Confessions Tuesday

I’m new to all of these Shrinking Jeans things… but I’m pretty sure Tuesday is the day each week when we’re supposed to man up and confess our weight loss-related sins for the week! So here’s my first True Confession post (hopefully the first of many!).

I signed up for the Burst Into Summer challenge at Shrinking Jeans last Wednesday. And, even though I haven’t done the “healthy food shopping” yet, and my house is full of horrible, fattening, high-calorie foods, I have been trying to pay attention to what I’m eating, anyway. Even if it’s something really bad for me, I’m trying not to eat AS much as I usually would. I’m also trying to cut out soft drinks and sweet tea (my huge weaknesses) and force myself to drink water… as much as I dislike it, I’m trying!

But, anyway, confession… yeah. My confession this week is that I have become addicted to ice cream this summer. It’s very strange because I’ve never been a huge fan of ice cream. But here lately, I find myself craving it. Every time we go anywhere near a McDonald’s, I ask my husband to stop and get me a cone. Yum, yum, and more yum! Love McD’s vanilla cones!!!! And, at some point last week, I asked my husband to pick up some ice cream at the grocery store. He came home with a carton of Rocky Road. Oh my. We devoured that carton in a couple of days. So, when I had to stop by the store for soap and toilet paper over the weekend, I also grabbed another carton of Rocky Road from the frozen foods aisle. And, I think that’s just about ALL I ate for two days this weekend!!! I skipped dinner Sunday night… and just ate ice cream. Pretty sure this is NOT a good tactic for weight loss!

So, that’s my nasty confession for the week: I inhaled two cartons of Rocky Road ice cream in a week’s time. Luckily, there’s no more ice cream in my freezer… and I don’t plan on there being any in the near future!

When I got the Rocky Road last weekend, I also grabbed a carton of fat-free rainbow sherbet (because store-brand frozen treats were 2 for $5). It looked nice and refreshing… and a lot healthier than Rocky Road! So, that’s what I’ve been eating for the last couple of days. And, you know what? It really does the trick. It’s sweet and cold and refreshing… a perfect summertime treat!!

This entry was posted in Burst into Summer, food, Health, True Confessions. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to True Confessions Tuesday

  1. meless50 says:

    I’m cracking up at eating ice cream for dinner, only because I’ve totally done that before! I have ice cream in the summer at least on a daily basis. I keep our freezer stocked with WW, Skinny Cow and fruit bars. OK, so they’re not as delicious as real ice cream, but they are pretty satisfying. And much better for us, right? Keep up the good work!

  2. IF it makes you feel any better those vanilla cones from McShits are only 140 calories and only 4 grams of fat per cone. I treat myself to them because they aren’t like real ice cream. I hate real ice cream and McShits and FroYo are the only “ice cream” treats I’ll partake.

    Today is a new day, no worries. 🙂

    Julie

  3. Adah says:

    water…water…water…you are being watched!! I can go for months and not want ice cream and then bam…I have to have some. And it’s usually for dinner!

  4. Trish says:

    OMG Julie said McShits…bwahahahahahaha! Love that!

Leave a Reply

