Summer

I know it’s not officially Summer yet, according to the calendar. But my kids finished with school last Wednesday, so as far as we’re concerned, it’s Summer!!

Summer is probably… no, definitely… my least favorite season, unfortunately. I don’t like heat. I don’t like bugs. I don’t like short shorts. I really don’t like to shave my legs with any sort of frequency! I hate to sweat. I hate that my husband spends 80% of his time at home on a lawnmower (although, I suppose that’s better than having to cut the grass myself!).

And mostly, I don’t like how the days all blur together. When the kids aren’t in school, and because I don’t work outside of the home, we have almost no reason to pay attention to what day it is. We also have absolutely NO structure around here (and we never had much to begin with, so that’s really bad). The kids don’t have a real bedtime. We all sleep half the day away. Two nights this past week we didn’t have dinner until 11pm. Yes, really… 11pm. Who eats dinner at 11pm?? These people.

And then, of course, there’s the fact that the kids are home all day every day… EVERY day. And, of course, they think that their world should be a 24/7 circus. I’m not cut out for having to entertain my children all day, EVERY day. (Whose idea was it to have all of these kids, anyway?? Pretty sure I can blame my dear husband for that!)

Between baseball (for Damon), cheerleading (for Avery), the Pirates (for Nick), and visiting friends/family (for me), I do think the summer will pass quickly. This week, we had a Pirates game Sunday; Damon has two baseball games Tuesday and Saturday; the kids and I are going to visit my dear friend Sarah on Thursday; Saturday night, Avery and I have the Taylor Swift concert in Pittsburgh; and next week, Avery’s cheerleading practices start twice a week.

Although I’m not a huge fan of Summer, I’m going to try to enjoy sleeping in and spending some quality time with my babies for the next couple of months.

This entry was posted in family, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer

  1. Tami says:

    Oh, Erin! That is the funniest thing I’ve read in ages. That is EXACTLY how I feel about summer. I’m always whining that I wish my kids were small again, but NOT in summer. Now, they are on their own (until they need money), Dave is on the golf course and summers are boring, boring, boring – not to mention hot, sweaty, and bug-filled. The only things that make summer barable are capri-pants, flip-flops and fresh fruits/veggies.

Leave a Reply

