Happy Feet

Before today, I was one of those people who didn’t understand why in God’s name anyone would ever pay more than $5 for a pair of flip flops. I’ve always been the queen of the $2.84 flip flops from Walmart… and that’s what I buy and wear every summer.

However, the $2.84 flip flops that I bought at Walmart last year… were a nightmare. They had a chunkier foam heel and a tighter plastic strap that went under my feet, and my poor feet never got used to them. A year later, it still hurts me to wear those shoes. Even so, I was prepared to buy another pair of $2.84 flip flops at Walmart this summer (or maybe I’d get really lucky and find some $1.78 flip flops that I liked!)… just not THAT particular kind.

Today, we went to Dick’s Sporting Goods (aka, Nick’s favorite place on the planet, other than PNC Park). We were looking for a pair of summery Crocs for Avery. She and I got matching woolly Crocs last winter, and she loves them because they’re easy to slip on… and because the child abhors socks, for some insane reason. But, her woolly Crocs aren’t going to work for summer. Avery found some cute, iridescent pink Croc sandals, with butterflies on them (of course!). Mission accomplished.

Then, as we were walking back down the main aisle, I saw the flip flop display. Adidas, Nike, Under Armour… all at least $25, some as high as $40 (“for a pair of FLIP FLOPS????” I’m thinking to myself). Just for shits and giggles, and so that I could prove that people who spend this kind of money on flip flops are INSANE, I decided to try them on.

And then I had one of those moments… you know, where the sky opens up and the sun shines through and you swear you hear God, or someone God-like, telling you to do something? All it took was about 1.3 seconds of having my feet inside some Under Armour flip flops before I forgot all about how ridiculous it was so spend that kind of money on them… and those $2.84 flip flops at Walmart (i.e., the torture chambers for my feet that I’ve been wearing for a year)?? Who in God’s name would do that to themselves??? Idiots.

So, yes, now I am the owner of a pair of $24.99 Under Armour flip flops. It makes me feel a little better to think of them as sandals… but, really, they’re flip flops. Wonderful, heavenly, making-love-to-my-feet flip flops. This is the start of a beautiful friendship.

This entry was posted in Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Feet

  1. Tami says:

    Good for you! As a long-time Wal-mart shoe shopper, I applaud you for finally pampering yourself. It just kills me every time I pay “real” prices for shoes, but oooohh it’s so nice when you put them on. Bravo!

  2. Julie K says:

    A good shoe is worth the money, especially if it makes your foot feel like you are walking on a cloud. I used to rock the under $5 shoes too but once I got introduced to a pair of flip-flops that didn’t make me want to cry as I put them on I never went back to torturous shoes. Those do look super comfy.

Leave a Reply

