Back Home

I was released from the hospital Thursday evening. Earlier that day, my doctor said she thought I’d stay one more day, so I was pleasantly surprised when they discharged me!

As I expected, it’s been really nice to be home again! I’ve spent the last two days doing not a whole heckuva lot of anything. I also have a new nebulizer and do breathing treatments every 4 hours… If I’d known I could do this at home, I would’ve been anxious to leave the hospital a lot sooner!

I’ve had a couple of episodes since I’ve been home. When I wake up in the morning, I have a daily coughing fit that turns into a panicky wheezing spell. So terrifying when you just CAN’T catch your breath!! But, the nebulizer is helping with that, too. First thing Monday morning I have a follow-up appointment with my doctor… so, hopefully, we’ll figure out some things to prevent this from happening yet again. (And, before anyone asks, I’ve been 100% smoke-free for a full week now… and intend to stay that way!)

Nick’s stepdad flew up here earlier this week to help out… and I can’t begin to tell you how grateful we are for everything he’s done! Aside from taking care of my kids… fixing dinner, packing cold lunches (Avery suckered him into that!), and letting them set up a Facebook page for him… he’s also single-handedly washed, dried, and folded nearly ALL of our laundry (no small feat!). Grampa Jay has been a huge help around the house, with the kids/dogs, and we’ve enjoyed spending quality time with him these last few days, too. He’s returning home to Virginia tomorrow… so, ummm, I guess that means I have to start doing my own laundry again?? Ack! 😉

 Thank you, Jay, for everything. We love you and appreciate so much your being here this week!! (Thanks to Chris, too, for letting us borrow him!) 

This entry was posted in uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back Home

  1. Glad to hear you’re on the road to recovery. And congratulations on being smoke free. Hope all goes well and you’re better than ever very soon.

Leave a Reply

