Long overdue thoughts on Nook!

Last year, I bought my first ereader… a Sony Pocket. I was madly in love with it for a while, and then I fell madly OUT of love with it (more on that later!). So, several months ago, I bought myself an early Christmas present. One of these suckers:

Even though I thought, prior to purchasing the Sony, that I didn’t need a reader with all the bells and whistles (i.e., the ability to shop directly from the device), I was sadly mistaken. I ended up having so many problems with my Sony and the software used to upload books to it that I really, really wished I had this feature!

This time, however, I agonized over whether to buy a Nook (from Barnes and Noble) or a Kindle (from Amazon). I ultimately chose the Nook because, like the Sony, it allows me to check out books from my digital library… and also because I had quite a collection of epub files on my Sony that I wanted to be able to transfer to my new reader. Oh, and I liked the idea of the Lend Me feature (and at that time, Kindle books weren’t lendable).

Now, many months and dozens of books later, these are my thoughts…

1. I was a fool to ever think I didn’t NEED to shop directly from my ereader. This is seriously the coolest thing since sliced bread. When I finish a really good book at 1am and can’t possibly wait until morning to get the next book in the series, and don’t want to get out of bed to hook the reader to the computer to download the new book… I don’t have to. With just a few simple clicks, I can have that book at my fingertips and reading can continue. It’s heavenly. Truly.

2. Even though I buy a lot of books directly from the B&N store, I still get plenty from other ebook stores, the library, NetGalley… various other places. So, I do still have to sideload content to my Nook and use that pesky software that gave me such issues with the Sony. However, lo and behold, I haven’t had ANY problems with the software and my Nook. I can’t even begin to describe how frustrating my experiences were with the Sony… made even more frustrating by the Sony people tweeting me and telling me that it shouldn’t be doing what I said it was doing. Oh, but it was. I promise. More often than not, I wanted to throw the Sony out the window and place a huge print book order somewhere instead. How sad!!

3. One thing (probably the ONLY thing) that I miss about the Sony is its battery life. I hardly ever had to charge my Sony… that battery lasted FOREVER. So, when I first got the Nook, I felt like I was having to charge it all. the. time. I did learn to adjust some of the settings (e.g., leaving the Nook on airplane mode so that the Wifi wasn’t constantly connected), and that helped quite a bit. Even so, the Sony’s battery life was wayyy better. But I’ve gotten used to charging the Nook every day or two, and it’s not a huge ordeal for me anymore.

4. The Nook is a bit larger than the Sony Pocket, and I find that it’s actually more comfortable to hold as a result. The page turn buttons are much easier to access on the Nook, too. I can hold it in all sorts of positions, one-handed even, and still turn the page easily. I always had an issue with that on the Sony.

5. I still don’t take advantage of many of the Nook’s “bells and whistles.” I was really excited the day I got it and spent some time loading music and photos… and, yeah, I don’t listen to music while I read. I do love to see Comet’s gorgeous face as the background, but I have never taken the time to change or add pics since that first day. I’d be just as happy if the screen were blank. The Web browser thing is an absolute pain in the rump, but since I didn’t even know the Nook HAD a browser, that didn’t break my heart either.

6. I haven’t used the Lend Me feature all that much. My friend Chris sent me one of her books when I first got the Nook, to test it out. And it worked just fine. Just the other day, I sent a book to my friend Trish’s Nook. I think the Lend Me feature is really neat and wish I could take advantage of it more, both giving and receiving. I think it would be a lot easier and would probably get used more if there was a way to view your friends’ books, though. As it is, I have to say to my friends, “Hey, what Lend Me books do you have? Wanna give me any??” Ummm, no. That doesn’t happen often! Seems like there should be a more user-friendly set-up for lending. Maybe in a future upgrade?

7. I also love that the screen is a bit bigger on the Nook and there are many, MANY more font sizes to choose from. Because ebook formatting is so varied, you never know which size font you’ll want for any given book. Sometimes I found that the few sizes available on the Sony Pocket were just not enough… they were either too small or too big… never “just right.”

The only major technical issue I’ve had with the Nook since I got it… Just in the last week or so, I’ve been having issues with the charger/USB cord. Basically, the cord that came with it doesn’t work anymore. When I try to plug it into the Nook, it just falls out… not connecting at all. I almost had a panic attack when I discovered this the other day, until I realized that my phone’s charger/USB cord fits the Nook. Although it’s still loose when I connect it (making me think the problem is in the Nook itself and not with the cord), it does work… thank God. I guess I’m going to have to take my Nook to a B&N store one of these days and see if they can help me. I’m dreading that because I don’t want to send it away for servicing… I don’t think I can live without it!! So, for now, the phone charger is working and I’m okay with that. But, I am a little bummed that a device I paid dearly for just a few months ago already has such an issue.

All in all, I’m thrilled with my Nook. I haven’t laid a finger on that darn Sony since the day the Nook arrived. I keep thinking I’ll pass it on to the kids, but honestly, I don’t know if I feel like dealing with it even for that.

This entry was posted in books, ebooks. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Long overdue thoughts on Nook!

  1. Trish says:

    Ahhhh Nook love!! I totally agree it’s awesome!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Long overdue thoughts on Nook! | Crazy Comma Momma -- Topsy.com

  3. Vivienne Dunstan says:

    Ouch re the charging. My Kindle 3 lasts for at least 3 weeks between charges, usually more like a month. Though that is with WiFi or 3G only on when needed. I moved to a Kindle from an iPod touch which needs charging every 1-2 days, and it was a huge improvement for me.

    Glad you are happy with your ereader anyway. That’s great.

  4. Chris B says:

    I am so glad the love affair is continuing…I feel the same way. You gotta get that charger issue figured out though, that’s a pain.

  5. Thanks for the honest review. We just purchased a Sony Pocket Reader here at the library and will be getting a Nook soon – so our patrons can give them a hands-on try before purchasing and can get a demonstration of downloading free ebooks from the State Library site. It’s good to hear some feedback from an actual user of both.

Leave a Reply

