Sweet as Sin by Inez Kelley

John Murphy is tormented by nightmares. A bestselling young-adult author, he writes the ultimate fantasy: stories where good always triumphs. He knows better. His past has shown him the worst in people—and in himself. When he moves next door to the sexy, vibrant Livvy—a woman completely unlike his usual one-night stands—he’s driven to explore every curve of her delicious body.

Pastry chef Livvy knows that giving in to the temptation that is John Murphy won’t lead to anything permanent, but she deserves a passionate summer fling. John discovers she’s as sweet as the confections she bakes while Livvy slowly unravels his secrets. But what will happen when she uncovers them all?

I read this book in one, luscious sitting. I did pause long enough on page 38 to Tweet this: “Only on p. 38 of Sweet as Sin… And, wow, H-O-T!! You go, Inez Kelley, lol.” And, at that point, I was thinking this is going to be a fun, sexy romance full of witty dialogue and, well, hot sex. And it was that.

What I didn’t know on page 38 was that it was going to be SO much more than witty dialogue and hot sex. There are so many layers to this story and the characters… I’m kind of in awe, having just finished it. I just keep thinking, “Wow… wasn’t expecting THAT!”

Once you get past the convenience of them being neighbors and instantly attracted to one another (but of course!), John and Livvy, and their relationship, seemed very real to me. I liked that they both had past issues and helped each other deal with them in their own ways. I also liked that they hurt each other. Yes, you read that correctly. I love fairytale romance, but I also love realistic elements thrown in there once and a while… hurt and heartbreak are realistic elements of love that we don’t always see in “happily ever after” romance novels. John and Livvy fall head over heels in love… they also hurt and forgive and love some more (and have really hot sex!). I adored them both and all the twists and turns their romance took.

The only thing I didn’t loooove about Sweet as Sin was the story-within-the-story element. I’m never a fan of that, in any book. I usually just skim or skip over those parts to get back to the REAL action. Although, the fact that John is a writer and it was HIS story did make me tolerate it a little more. I liked that it actually was a part of the plot in that way.

I know it’s early in 2011… and I’ve only read 8 books at this point… but Sweet as Sin is, by far, my favorite book of the year so far. I wish GoodReads had more than 5 stars for this one!!

Sweet as Sin will be available from Carina Press on January 31, 2011. I reviewed an ARC from NetGalley and Carina Press.

This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sweet as Sin by Inez Kelley

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Sweet as Sin by Inez Kelley | Crazy Comma Momma -- Topsy.com

  2. Julie Young says:

    Ok how did you get to read it before it was released??? LOL

  3. Erin says:

    You didn’t read the fine print, Julie?? lol
    I got an ARC (advanced reader copy) from NetGalley.

  4. Julie says:

    Well no I didn’t lol I will be patient then a wait to read it!

Leave a Reply

