An irresponsible mom

This morning, I did a really dumb, irresponsible thing.

I spent almost all of the money we had to our names on two Taylor Swift concert tickets. I know. Stupid.

I’ve been agonizing over this for days. I really, really wanted to be able to take Avery to Taylor’s concert… because she would just be over the moon!! But the ticket prices are insane. And I kept telling myself that, as much as Avery would LOVE to go to the concert, she wouldn’t miss it if we didn’t go either. So, I should really do the responsible thing and NOT get the tickets… so that we can eat for the next week.

But, this morning I hopped on TicketMaster as soon as the pre-sale tickets were available, put in my special fan club code, and started searching for tickets. I let lots of really awesome seats go… because I still wasn’t convinced I could actually DO this. And, after about 20 minutes of going back and forth, back and forth, I finally just said, “oh, the heck with it!” and hit the “Buy” button.

I’ve been feeling absolutely sick to my stomach since then. I have no idea how we’re going to manage for the next week or so until PayDay.

But, then I look at this picture…

This was Avery a few nights ago. Sitting with her pillows and her robe, with the Taylor Swift Speak Now CD in her Dora boombox, clutching the lyrics. She sat here, just like this, for HOURS. She must’ve listened to the whole CD at least three times… following along with the lyrics, learning each and every song.

When I look at this picture, I realize that sometimes being an irresponsible mom is not such a horrible thing. On June 18th, when Avery sees Taylor walk out on stage in front of her, it’s going to be worth every single penny! And, a date night with my favorite girl is always priceless! 😉

This entry was posted in Avery, motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An irresponsible mom

  1. In ten years, neither of you will remember living on boxed macaroni and cheese for a week, but Avery will remember the night her mom made her feel special and gave all to make her happy. Sometimes the irresponsible mom is the best!

Leave a Reply

