2010: Looking Back (the Book Edition)

Most Anticipated Book of 2010: Alpha by Rachel Vincent

Over the last several years, I’ve discovered, read, and gotten hooked on many series, and it’s really difficult for me to pick favorites… because I adore so many of them, sometimes for very different reasons. But, if you asked me to list my favorite series, Rachel Vincent’s Shifters would be wayyy at the top of the list… maybe even in the number one spot. I’ve been hooked on this series since the first book and have highly anticipated the release of each installment. Alpha was the final book in this series, and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on it and see how it was all going to end for Faythe and the boys.

Most Disappointing Book of 2010: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

I think I said it all in my review of this book on GoodReads:

I don’t really know what to say about this book. From page 1, I’ve been wondering “why the hype??” And, after 480 pp., I’m still wondering that!!!

Getting through the first 150 pp. was positively painful… and actually took me three tries. The only reason I FORCED myself to stick with it was because I’ve read SUCH good things about this book/series; otherwise, this would be a DNF for me.

Once I managed to get about a third of the way through it, I’ll admit, I was caught up in the mystery, but even so, I didn’t love this book. Not even close. I’m sad that I jumped the gun and bought all three books in this series before reading the first one… lesson learned! Now, I have two more Stieg Larsson books that I’m not sure I can force myself to read.

Favorite New-to-Me Author in 2010: Shannon Stacey

Love, love, and more love. Oh, and did I mention love??? If you don’t take anything else away from this blog post, just please go buy a Shannon Stacey book. I’d recommend starting with Exclusively Yours (like I did)… and then you’ll be hooked on the Kowalskis (like I am) and you’ll immediately want to buy/read/devour/cuddle its follow-up, Undeniably Yours. And then your Most Anticipated Book of 2011 will be Yours by Design (it’s definitely one of mine!). And, in the meantime, you might start experiencing withdrawal symptoms and frantically search for/purchase an older Shannon Stacey book, Forever Again, just to get a fix (not that I know anyone who did that or anything!)… and you’ll have to read her holiday novella, Holiday Sparks. Shannon Stacey, I love you, errr, your books… keep writing!! 🙂

Favorite Hero of 2010: Curran from Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series

This was a hard decision because I fall in love with almost every hero in every book/series I read… I kinda think maybe that’s the point?!?! But Curran definitely stands out for me, for some reason. It’s been a while since I read these books, and my mind is like a sieve, so I can’t recall anything specific… and I’ll definitely be re-reading before the next Kate/Curran installment. But I do remember being wowed by this hero and the incredible sexual tension created in this series. Yummy stuff. Reowrrr… really (he is a lion, after all!!).

Favorite Re-Reads of 2010: Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark-Hunter series

I can’t remember when I first read these books… a few years ago, I think. And I really enjoyed each and every book, but got side-tracked after the first 5 or so… and never made it back to them. So, a couple of months ago, I started over… and then continued on with the series. I think I enjoyed it even more the second time. Of course, there are like a bazillion books in this series now, and I still have lots to get through… so I might be re-reading some of them yet again in 2011. I’m determined to make it to Ash’s book one of these years!

Favorite Genre of 2010: Urban Fantasy

Surprisingly enough, it looks like urban fantasy was the most popular genre for me last year. Paranormal was a close second, historical was third, and contemporary romance and young adult were tied for fourth… with a few odd-balls that I’m not sure how to categorize and also a few steampunks (totally mysterious, new-to-me genre that I’m still not sure I totally understand). I’m a bit surprised that there weren’t more historicals on my list because, if you asked, I’d probably deem that genre my favorite. Mental note: Read more historicals in 2011.

Strangest Book of 2010: The Passage by Justin Cronin

I hated this book… but couldn’t put it down. I’m not sure what that says about it (or me)! It was one of the only non-romance books I’ve read in the last several years, and when I finished it I remembered why that is! I read for pleasure, to escape from the realities of life… and there was nothing at all pleasurable about this read! It was horrifying from start to finish, and I felt nauseous the whole time I was reading it.

Highlight of my Reading Experience in 2010: Ebooks!!!!!

I finally took the plunge and bought my first ereader in 2010. So exciting to finally have access to ebooks… it has truly changed my reading experience for the better. I upgraded a few months ago and got a Nook (that I AM going to review one of these days!), which has been even more amazing.

This entry was posted in books, Looking back. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

