Stone Kissed by Keri Stevens

When Delia Forrest talks to statues, they talk back. She is, after all, the last of the Steward witches.

After an arsonist torches her ancestral home with her estranged father still inside, Delia is forced to sell the estate to pay his medical bills. Her childhood crush, Grant Wolverton, makes a handsome offer for Steward House, vowing to return it to its former glory. Delia agrees, as long as he’ll allow her to oversee the restoration.

Working so closely with Grant, Delia finds it difficult to hide her unique talent—especially when their growing passion fuels her abilities.

But someone else lusts after both her man and the raw power contained in the Steward land. Soon, Delia finds herself fighting not just for Grant’s love, but for both their lives…

I’ve been following Keri Stevens on Twitter for quite some time now… I always enjoy her witty tweets… and somehow it totally escaped my knowledge that she hadn’t been published until now! So, when I saw that she had a debut book with Carina Press, I knew I had to read it.

I was thrilled to receive an ARC from NetGalley and Carina so that I could check it out ASAP. And I’m so pleased to say that I was not disappointed… in fact, I was kind of surprised by how much I enjoyed this book.

When I first read the blurb, I thought, “talking to statues??” and I was very skeptical, I’ll admit. I read a lot of paranormal/fantasy weirdness, but I’ve never come across a witch who can talk to statues. I really wasn’t sure what to expect, but I thought it was fun and refreshing… and I enjoyed getting to know Delia and being introduced to her unique talent.

Aside from the romance between Delia and Grant, which I was definitely caught up in from the very beginning, I also loved the relationship between Delia and her dying father. Although “romance” in a romance novel is predictable, I find that often the secondary relationships are more complex and touching. I definitely felt that was the case in Stone Kissed.

Oh, and of course there must be a wicked villain or two! And Cecily was one of the creepy-crawliest villains I’ve encountered in a long time! She totally gave me the heebie jeebies throughout the entire book… I loved to hate her.

Overall, I enjoyed Stone Kissed… I’m so happy to have read a Keri Stevens book now, and I can’t wait to read more from her in the future (and you should follow her on Twitter because she’s seriously entertaining there, too!).

Stone Kissed will be available from Carina Press on December 27, 2010. I reviewed an ARC from NetGalley and Carina Press.

This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stone Kissed by Keri Stevens

  1. Keri Stevens says:

    Erin,
    Thank you for reviewing STONE KISSED. I’m so pleased you enjoyed it–and that I could surprise you!

  2. Vanessa Johnson says:

    I sooooooo want to read that one now!!! That sounds really good!!!

  3. Pingback: Review: Stone Kissed by Keri Stevens | Smexy Books

Leave a Reply

