Bonded by Blood by Laurie London

Deep within the forests of the Pacific Northwest, two vampire coalitions battle for supremacy—Guardian enforcers who safeguard humanity and Darkblood rogues who kill like their ancient ancestors.

Now, Guardian team leader Dominic Serrano will be forced to choose between the vengeance he craves and the woman he can’t live without…

Movie location scout Mackenzie Foster-Shaw has always known that she’s cursed to die young. No one can protect her from the evil that has stalked her family for generations—vampires who crave her rare blood type. Until one afternoon in a wooded cemetery, she encounters an impossibly sexy stranger, a man she must trust with her life.

For Dominic, a man haunted by loss, Mackenzie satisfies a primal hunger that torments him—and the bond they share goes beyond heat, beyond love. She alone can supply the strength he needs to claim his revenge. But in doing so, he could destroy her…

I was so excited to come across this book… the first in a new vamp series from Harlequin… while I was browsing the NetGalley catalog the other day.

Although the vampire stories have been very popular for a while now, I actually haven’t read one in quite some time. I’ve been reading more urban fantasy stuff lately, I guess, and although I love it, sometimes it hurts my brain! I found this story to be very comforting… an easy read and a new “vamp world” with new “vamp rules” that I didn’t have any trouble immersing myself in.

I think the concept of Sweetbloods and their Guardians vs. Darkbloods is pretty interesting. Maybe not entirely new or different, but different enough that I was intrigued from the beginning of this story until the end.

Dominic was a very sexy hero (like most!), and I found Mackenzie to be very likable. I like that, for a change, these two weren’t afraid to admit their feelings for each other. So often in romance, that gets drawn out wayyy too much for my liking. We know it’s going to happen by the end of the book, but the h/h are always so darn stubborn and “afraid” of admitting how they feel… blah. Dom and Kenz had no trouble blurting out their “I love yous,” and I thought that was very refreshing.

I’m definitely looking forward to the second book in this series, Embraced by Blood, due out July 2011.

Bonded by Blood releases February 1, 2011. I reviewed an ARC from NetGalley and Harlequin. It is available for preorder now at Amazon.

This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bonded by Blood by Laurie London

  1. carla says:

    HMMMMMMMMMM gonna have to check into this one……………..looks lustfully good!

Leave a Reply

