Oh, she shines alright…

Avery is really into playing “school” here lately. You would think that spending 6 hours in real school each day would be enough, but she comes home every day and says, “Mommy, will you play school today??? Yesterday you said you would play TODAY!” And I groan, of course. But, I do remember being Avery’s age and playing school with my friend Brandy. So I try to suppress the groans and actually play along every now and then.

Last night, I was cleaning up the piles of papers that Avery had left lying on the coffee table, from our school adventure one night this week… She (the teacher) makes me (the student) a bunch of worksheets, and of course, I get check-pluses on everything… because Mommy is a smart cookie like that!! Anyway, I was scooping up all of my check-plus papers when I noticed one that I hadn’t seen before… one that was covered with Avery’s handwriting, not mine.

At first, I thought she was maybe writing down song lyrics that she’d heard… but the further I read, the more I realized she’d just made this up. And it’s too cute not to share (spelling mistakes are hers).

My time to shine

Is it my time to shine?

Oh yes it is. Its mine.

Oh its not yours becouse I am smart and good at

reading books.

Also I passed pre-K and Kindergarden

and I’m probably going to pass first grade to.

I think maybe she’s the future Taylor Swift. And, really, it’s a shame the child doesn’t have a little more self-confidence, huh? 😉

This entry was posted in Avery. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh, she shines alright…

  1. diane says:

    Erin, I love this!!!

  2. Daddy/Grampy says:

    Mazel Tov!

Leave a Reply

