What is a crop?

I hear this question a lot, from those not immersed in the world of scrapbooking. And I know when I first started scrapping, the word confused the heck out of me, too. Crop is a verb… you crop your pictures, cutting them down to a smaller size, right? But somehow crop also became a noun. I don’t know how this happened, but I guess it’s as good a word as any!

So, a crop is basically when scrapbookers pack up everything but the kitchen sink, get together, and scrapbook! It’s pretty simple. Many scrapbook stores have planned “all-day crops,” that might be held from 9am to 6pm… or something like that. My very favorite kind of crop is what used to be referred to more commonly as a “retreat.” A weekend scrapbooking retreat… or crop… is a bunch of women (not being sexist, but in 10 years I’ve never seen a male scrapbooker at a crop!) who get away from home for a few blessed days and spend the weekend talking, laughing, having a great time… and scrapbooking a little, too!

When I first started scrapping and would go to crops, my husband was puzzled. He didn’t understand why we had to scrapbook in groups… because, really, it’s kind of a solitary activity! Other people are NOT  required to do this. But one of my favorite things about this hobby is the people I’ve met, the friends I’ve made because of it. And spending a weekend with them is always something I look forward to! Plus, being surrounded by people who are doing the same thing, who have great ideas, is inspirational. And we share supplies/tools, etc.

Scrapbooking can be done alone, but it’s so much more fun when you’re surrounded by other scrapping peeps!

Last weekend, I went to a weekend crop at the Cozy Crop House, near Lancaster, PA. There, I met up with some old scrapping friends and made some new ones. It was such a fun weekend… a great break from reality… and the weekend absolutely FLEW by!! (Packing to go home is always the worst part of a crop!!)

Here is the crop room at the Cozy Crop House… where all of the creating takes place… full of all of our “stuff.”

Scrapbooking does require A LOT of stuff. And it’s always interesting packing and unpacking and seeing what everyone else has. I always feel like I pack way too much, but I’m usually the one with the least when we get there!!

Here was my little scrap area:

It’s also nice when you go to a crop and there’s a store set up! I was impressed with the inventory at the Cozy Crop store… did not expect it to be so nice, honestly. They had all kinds of goodies in there, and it was conveniently located just in the back of the crop room. I spent a bit of time browsing around in there when my creativity left the building!

The Cozy Crop was a lot of fun. All of the other weekend retreats I’ve been to have been at big hotels… where 200 people set up their scrap areas in a huge ballroom. I like that environment, too, but this really was “cozier.” The house was nice, and the environment was so relaxed. I also loved that it was a smaller group… there were 12 of us at the Cozy Crop last weekend. A really nice number because you can spend time talking, catching up, or getting to know one another. When you’re in a ballroom with 199 other people, that doesn’t happen as much… you tend to stick to your little group of friends, anyway. So it seems kinda silly to be there with sooo many people.

So, that’s a crop… in a nutshell! I’m already looking forward to my next one!

 

This entry was posted in scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

