Life is pretty good

When I was growing up, I had a definite image in my head of what my adult life would be like. Over the years, reality has clouded that image a bit. The white picket fence was erased years and years ago… along with the tropical vacations and a huge tree in the backyard that sprouted an endless amount of money for my personal use!

And, I am definitely a victim of The Grass Is Always Greener syndrome. I tend to romanticize other people’s lives and imagine that everyone has it better than I do, in one way or another… even if I know that isn’t really the case. I spend a lot of time thinking that I’m missing out on something great, even though I can’t pinpoint what, exactly, I’m missing.

I’m slowly but surely coming to the realization that maybe nothing is missing from my life. (Real “aha!” moment there!!)

I guess it’s human nature to always want more… a bigger house, a newer car, a fancier camera, a flatter television screen, a longer vacation, a faster computer, a happier savings account, etc. And it’s very hard sometimes not to compare what we have with what everyone else has.

But, every now and then, I have a moment when I realize that I have just about everything I need and want. Always striving for more can be absolutely exhausting. And is it really energy well spent?? When I stop and think about it, I’m actually quite content with my life… with the very little that I do have. And, for some reason, that thought is kind of startling… in a good way.

This might not be the life I always imagined I’d have… and it probably isn’t a life that many people envy… but it is the life I’ve created for myself. And, this morning, I’m proud of and happy with this cute, little life of mine!

This entry was posted in Deep thoughts, randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life is pretty good

  1. Tammi says:

    Thanks Erin! I needed to hear that! Made me do some thinking and I feel the same way! Glad you are in a good place this morning!

  2. Trish says:

    I left your little part of the world yesterday and was so jealous. I wanted to stay and live your life. I wanted the slower pace, the more family time..the happiness you that shines all over your face. You have a lot of what people want. You are surrounded by love and not doing a lot of what if’s. I am glad you are proud of your life and I am proud to be part of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

