Camping… in the backyard

I took over 100 photos of our backyard camping adventure last night, but they can all be summed up with this one photo (which looked a lot better and was more legible when it was full size!!). Put on your reading glasses, and check it out: **ETA: If you click on the photo, it will actually open it larger!**

When Nick got home from work Friday, he set out for the backyard to put up the tent.

Avery and I watched from above, criticizing and taking photos of the process.

It was three-quarters of the way up, when Nick decided it was backwards… he wanted the door on the OTHER side of the tent. So, he enlisted the kids to help him turn it around. (Note: He knows better than to ask me to do anything remotely manual labor-ish!)

At this point, I lost interest and left to go to the grocery store. When I got back, voila! The monster tent was up.

It was soooo stinkin’ hot out there. In the evenings, when the sun sets, it BEATS on the back of our house. I think a front yard camp would’ve been smarter… but, our front yard won’t hold that tent!! So, we sweltered in the heat for a few hours.

Avery spun some tunes on her half-broken Dora radio.

I even convinced the kids to pose for a picture.

Nick and Comet were ready for hot dogs!

Apparently, Avery and I entertained ourselves by taking pictures all evening… of nothing in particular.

Then, the sun FINALLY set. I swear I heard “Hallelujah!!!” as that ball of fire disappeared behind the hill across the street. Instant relief!!

I really don’t know what we did all evening. I took my eReader out there but never turned it on. We had Monopoly ready to go but never played. We basically just sat around and did a lot of nothing! But, the evening flew by… before I knew it, it was 10pm and time to get ready for sleep. I had warned Nick earlier that I was going to cheat and go in the house to take a shower before bed. He gave me permission (not that I was really ASKING for it!) because, he said, if we were at a campground, there would be a shower house! We also cheated and let the dogs sleep in the house, in their crates. There was PLENTY of room in the tent for them… we could’ve put 20 dogs in that tent with us… but I think we were all more comfortable with them inside.

I tried to take pictures of the inside of the tent, but they were horrible and blurry. I did get one halfway decent shot of the kids inside the tent, but you can’t really SEE the tent itself. Next time, I’ll remember to take inside pics before it gets dark!

One downfall to camping in our backyard: there’s no such thing as a flat spot anywhere in our rather large yard. So, poor Avery kept sliding down to the bottom of the tent in her sleep. Nick got up once and moved both kids back to the top. When I woke up this morning, Avery was kinda crumpled in a ball at the very bottom of the tent. So, we’re looking forward to camping on a flat site one of these days!!

All in all, the great backyard camp-out was a huge success. That was kind of our trial run for tent camping… and, since it went so well, we’re hoping to actually go to a campground one weekend soon. We could probably fit at least ten of our closest friends in the giant tent with us… anyone wanna come along?? 😉

This entry was posted in camping, family, Fun stuff, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Camping… in the backyard

  1. Stephenie says:

    Looks like they really enjoyed it. I miss our monster tent. The horses at Assateague invited themselves in and didnt bother to unzip the door. :/

    So where did you get yours and what did ya spend, if ya dont mind me asking. Im in the market of a monster tent at an affordable price. lol

  2. Erin says:

    Stephenie, I honestly have NO idea. It’s my mom’s tent… she bought it back in MD and used to take it to Chincoteague all the time. Since we’ve lived here, it’s been stored in my basement… so we decided to put it to good use!!

  3. Brilliant blog post Erin, love the photos … and what a lovely family bonding experience!!

  4. ellie says:

    Looks like you guys had so much fun!! Loved the first pic!

  5. Trish says:

    Erin that post was spectacular! The hot dogs, the tent, the fan..bwahahahahaha the sliding and all the rest of your amenities,just cracked me up…I love it!

    Although, I am not sleeping sliding in your tent in August…ROFLMAO!!

  6. Erin says:

    Awww, c’mon, Trish! You don’t wanna camp with me?? on a hill? ROFL

  7. Trish says:

    Not on a hill, in a tent, with a fan, in the heat. Well maybe…ROFL!!

Leave a Reply

