A date with my daughter

A few nights ago, Nick and Damon went out to take care of some Scouting business… and Avery was soooo upset because she couldn’t tag along. I promised her that she and I could have a girls-only date today. So, we did.

First stop, McDonald’s for lunch. Avery puts me to shame with her healthy eating choices… she gets apples instead of fries (she doesn’t even like the caramel dipping sauce, *gasp!*) and water instead of soda. That’s why she’s the trimmest member of our family, I’m sure!

We had to nearly inhale our food because we were close on time, and our next stop was the movie theater! Ever since I mentioned a movie date, Avery’s been yammering on and on about “Despectable Me.” I finally figured out it was a new 3-D movie, Despicable Me (she still can’t say the word correctly, even after much coaching).

It was a SUPER movie. I was soooo pleasantly surprised! I’ve spent the past 2 days trying to convince Avery to see Eclipse instead, but she insisted on Despectable Me. Honestly, I hadn’t even heard of this movie until she mentioned it a few days ago, so I had no idea what it was about or if I might like it. I loved it. I’m a little sad that I insisted this was a girls-only day because I know that Damon would have LOVED this movie!! If it didn’t cost an arm and a leg to get in (huge downfall to 3-D movies!!), I’d consider taking him tomorrow.

After the movie, we happened upon this strange safari/wild animal “thing” in the mall parking lot. Very bizarre. Basically, you could pay a small fortune to ride a camel or to have your photo taken with various wild animals (baby tigers, a huge snake, monkeys, etc.). Otherwise, it was free to wander around and peer at the animals in their cages. We opted for the latter.

I love this picture of the crazy, little monkey eating a marshmallow. He was entertaining, as monkeys usually are!!

The big cat was sleepy. There was a warning sign on his cage that read: “Big cats spray!” I think I’m glad he was asleep.

After that, I made the mistake of impulsively stopping at Ollie’s on the way home. I just wanted to wander around, stay out a little longer, and see what kinds of interesting things they had at Ollie’s. But, Avery’s bratty side emerged, unfortunately, and kind of ruined our whole date. BUT, until that point, we did have a wonderful day together!!

If you take nothing else away from this blog post, at least go see Despicable Me. It was good, good, good stuff! Oh, and don’t impulsively stop at a store on the way home to “just look” if you are accompanied by a 6-year-old diva with bratty tendencies!

This entry was posted in Avery, Fun stuff, me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A date with my daughter

  1. Angie says:

    Seriously, Erin, Eclipse? With your 6 y/o? Now I understand what audience those screaming Burger King “TEAM JACOB” commercials are for. Moms trying desperately to hook their 6 y/o’s on it so they have an excuse to go. lolol. Dude. Eclipse?

  2. Erin says:

    I’m really NOT one of those crazy Twilight moms, I promise… trust me, I don’t understand the insanity and/or the attraction for middle-aged women (it’s a little creepy). I do watch the movies (with my kids… is that something we’re not supposed to do?? lol) once they hit DVD, though.

Leave a Reply

