Early Mornings

I am soooo NOT a morning person. Never have been, probably never will be. And it’s not that I have anything against mornings, really. But, I’ve always been such a night owl that mornings just don’t work for me!!

I will admit that, since I’ve had kids, I’ve learned to appreciate early mornings, however. Today, for instance… I think Nick’s alarm starting going off at (or maybe even a little before!) 4am this morning. That’s insanity in my book; some days I’m not even asleep for the night by then, usually when I’m really caught up in a book and just can’t force myself to put it down and go to sleep! But, this morning, for some reason, I was up at the first cock-a-doodle-doo of his alarm (yes, he’s that annoying… one of his alarms is a friggin’ ROOSTER! It’s amazing that I’ve stayed married to this man for this long, huh??). I tried and tried to go back to sleep, but it just wasn’t happening. So, finally, at around 5am, I gave up… put some coffee on and found my way to my computer. And, here I am.

I know I’m going to be ready for a nap by 9am, but I’m thoroughly enjoying this quiet, early morning!! The kids and dogs are all still sleeping (and probably will be for several more hours), and the peace and quiet is soooo nice.

If I were a smart person, I would take advantage of this quiet and get to work. I could put in a full day’s work before the kids even woke up, if I started now. But, instead, I’m blogging… and Facebooking… and Tweeting… and kind of embracing the fact that I’m getting older and learning to appreciate the dawn of a new day, instead of sleeping through it!

This entry was posted in me, randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

