Don’t believe the shirt

A couple of weeks ago, Damon and I were out shopping for clothes for him. My Gram had sent him some money and said, “Go buy that growing boy some new summer clothes!” So, we did. We already had a couple of outfits picked out, but as we were cruising out of the boys’ clothing department, Damon saw this t-shirt… He snatched it up, laughed out loud, and said, “MOM, I HAVE to get this one!!!”

This morning, Damon wore the shirt to school (photo above).

Not ten minutes after he donned the shirt that would imply he doesn’t love his sister to pieces, this was the scene before me…

We were walking down the street to the bus stop. Comet and I were lagging behind the kids because, of course, Comet had to stop and pee on every blade of grass we passed. So, I looked ahead at the kids at one point and saw them walking side-by-side, their steps absolutely matched with one another. And Avery was running her mouth, as usual, talking a mile a minute with her hands. Damon was next to her, shaking his head dutifully and acting like he was paying attention to her.

Then, it was time for them to cross from one side of the street to the other. So, Damon (the boy who hates his sister, yeah right!) held his arm out in front of Avery and looked both ways for them… and then they crossed the street, side by side. Avery was still talking a mile a minute, of course. She doesn’t miss a beat!

I couldn’t help but smile, and I really wished I had my camera along with me so that I could get a picture of them walking together to the bus stop.

Then, they came to the intersection. It has taken years and years of me yelling and screaming and lecturing, but at nine years old, Damon is finally trained to come to a halt at any intersection and look both ways before he crosses. Actually, he usually looks both ways six times before he crosses. But now, not only does he stop himself from crossing, he also knows that he has to look out for his little sister. So, as they approached the intersection, Avery was still running her mouth and not paying a bit of attention (we’re still working on training her!), when Damon reached out and grabbed the handle of her bookbag and yanked her back on the sidewalk. It didn’t phase her; she was still running her mouth. Damon looked both ways six times, and they crossed the street.

I was still smiling after observing their walk to the bus stop. And I thought to myself, “Oh yeah, he’d love for aliens to abduct his sister… NOT!” There’s no doubt in my mind that Damon would take a bullet for his little sister (although I really hope we never have to test that theory). Of course they have their little sister/big brother moments, when they claim to hate each other… and sometimes I think they actually believe that. But, for the most part, Damon and Avery are best friends… and they are pretty much inseparable.

The other day, Nick had the kids at a local playground… and one of the teachers from their school was there. She approached Nick and said, “Are you Damon’s dad? He is the SWEETEST boy!! Every time he sees his sister in the hallway or on the playground, he runs up to her and gives her a big hug. Most of the 3rd grade boys would die before acknowledging their little sisters, let alone show them affection at school in front of everyone!”

That’s probably the best compliment I’ve ever received about my kids. They might scream and fight like cats and dogs every now and then… and Damon might wear a shirt wishing alien abduction on his sister. But, at the end of the day, I know that they positively adore each other. And, as a mom, I couldn’t ask for anything more than that!

This entry was posted in Damon and Avery. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Don’t believe the shirt

  1. Julie K. says:

    Thanks. That made me tear up and cry. Very, very sweet! I hope they stay that way forever. She is a lucky little girl to have such a sweet big brother and they are lucky kids to have been taught so well by their Mom and Dad to love each other! Kudos to you and Nick on a job well done!

  2. MommaC says:

    *sniffle*

    See? He’s gonna’ be OK, that boy!

    Give ’em both hugs from Gramma Chris!

  3. Trish says:

    That is the sweetest thing ever!!! I hope Elias and Adam have a best friend bond like that.

  4. Diane says:

    “Every time he sees his sister in the hallway or on the playground, he runs up to her and gives her a big hug.” I completely welled up at that Erin.
    Good job Mom!

  5. Daddy/Grampy says:

    Shhhwwwweeeeet!

  6. Emily says:

    I meant to comment on this entry earlier…
    As much as our boys claim to “despise” their sisters deep down they are best buddies. Brady has been so lost without Madeline this week. (she is in Kentucky on a youth mission trip) They would never admit it but they really do love their sisters!

Leave a Reply

