Book Fair Fun

A couple of weeks ago, my mom and I traveled to Columbus, Ohio for the Romantic Times Booklovers Convention Book Fair. It was such a crazy, chaotic day. It was also a little surreal to meet some of my favorite authors. I’ve been reading their books for years, subscribing to their blogs, and stalking them on Twitter and Facebook. To suddenly find myself in a room FULL of my favorites? It was overwhelming to say the least!

Here are the books I had signed:

No, your eyes aren’t failing you… “The Chief” by Monica McCarty is not signed to me, but to my friend Trish. I promise I’m going to get this in the mail to you soon, Trish. But, in the meantime, there ya go! 😉

There were also several authors there who I wanted to meet but didn’t… J.R. Ward, Charlaine Harris, Jeaniene Frost, Richelle Mead. They were the most in-demand authors, and the wait times to see them were just too much for me to handle! The day was crazy enough as it was. After fighting through the crowds to see the few authors I did, I was more than ready to relax at the bar with my friend Angie and visit before our trip home!

Speaking of my friend Angie, she’s a celebrity in her own right in the publishing world… I snagged a copy of the latest RT Book Reviews magazine and found this article featuring Angie on page 12 (I should’ve had her sign it!!):

And while we were relaxing with Angie in the bar, she called over and introduced me to some more great writers… Sherry Thomas and Shiloh Walker. It was even more fun to meet them in that setting because they stood around and chatted with us for a bit. And signed more goodies for me!

My only regret about the day is that I didn’t take more photos!! I had my camera… and I snapped a few pics, but for the most part, it was just too much to deal with. If I ever find myself at another event like this, I’ll definitely make it a point to get more pics, though!

Even though I didn’t wait for hours to meet JR Ward, I did take a few stalkerish pics from afar before we left the book fair.

And here’s a photo of Angie, Mom, and me before we left:

It was a fun day. A crazy day. An exhausting day. And… I also came home with a lovely parking ticket from the city of Columbus. But, all in all it was a great, unique experience, and I’m so glad I went!

This entry was posted in books, uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Fair Fun

  1. Trish says:

    Oh Erin, I love all the photos! Thank you so much for getting an autograph for me! I can’t wait to get it! YAY!

Leave a Reply

