Accomplish: The Health Edition

It’s been a while since I made an “Accomplish” post. To tell you the truth, I haven’t felt very accomplished lately. There are always little, daily accomplishments, I suppose… like getting work done, laundry, dishes, not killing my kids before bedtime, etc. But I don’t really think any of that is newsworthy… or, in this case, blogworthy!

When I chose “Accomplish” as my One Little Word for 2010, one goal I had in mind was getting healthy this year. I need to change my diet, start exercising, give up my soda addiction and learn to love water, and… maybe most importantly… quit smoking, again. So, all of these things have been tucked away in the back of my mind, nagging me for several months now.

I’ve also been on the sidelines watching and cheering for my friend Trish. Her One Little Word this year is “Self.” And she has taken that to heart like you wouldn’t believe. Trish has been improving her “self” this year in ways I never dreamed she would. Not because I didn’t believe she COULD (I think we all CAN if we’re so inclined!)… but, well, for the past several years, Trish has been my partner in crime, so to speak. And, really, our only crimes were committed against ourselves. Trish and I used to spend hours together, just sitting around… talking about how overweight and out-of-shape we both were. Sharing an entire bag of our favorite salt and vinegar chips. Finding strength in each other’s weaknesses, I think. Misery does love company after all!

But, this year, my partner in all things unhealthy left me behind in the dust!! Now, when Trish posts on her blog or when she Tweets about her exercise routine that day and how many pounds she’s lost since January, I’m in awe… and I ask myself, “Who is that person???” And writing this today is actually making me tear up… not because I’m sad that Trish left me behind. But because I’m so unbelievably proud of her and what she’s doing!! And, to put it simply, she’s absolutely my inspiration now: I want to be like Trish!!!!

I know myself, and I know that I can’t just wake up one day and decide to BE healthy and make all the right choices. That just isn’t going to happen. There is no magical day when it’s all going to fall into place for me. But I’m determined to take one or two baby steps at a time until I’m there.

Last week, I bought the Wii Active exercise program. It’s been sitting around the house for a week; the kids have been “playing” with it. But, yesterday, I put on my sneakers and closed the curtains and forced myself to complete the Day One workout. Why yesterday?? Well, because another good friend of mine, Angie, started her own workout program yesterday, and I thought it would be fun for us to start together. I’m much more motivated knowing that Trish and Angie are both doing this (and suffering!!) with me.

Today, I forced myself to fire up the Wii and attack Day Two. It hurt. I wanted to cry. I can’t feel my legs right now. But, I did it… and that feels wonderful!! Although, I’ll admit that I nearly kissed the screen when Wii Active told me that tomorrow is a day of “rest.” I’ll definitely take that!! 😉

This week, I’ve also cut wayyyy back on my soda intake. I never drink water… ever. Nick and I start to get the shakes when we’re down to our last two liter of soda… and one of us has to make an emergency soda run to the nearest store. We go through several two liters each day. Really. So, Sunday, I bought a case of bottled water and some flavor packets. And I’ve been drinking water like it’s going out of style this week. I have had a few sodas, but nowhere near what I would usually drink! I’m not completely forbidding soda from my life… but I am making a conscious effort to cut back on my soda intake. And I’m learning to like the taste of water.

Tomorrow, some of my scrappy friends are starting a Biggest Loser-type challenge, moderated by my friend Katie. I hadn’t really thought much about it… but, the other day, I figured, “what the heck??” And I sent my $5 in and joined the challenge. Tomorrow is our first weigh-in. Trish and I are painting our toes tonight, so that we have cute feet for our official weigh-in photos! Again, I’m super excited that Trish is along for this ride!!

And, tomorrow, I’m also going to attempt to give up smoking again. I’ve gradually picked it up over the last several months… after being smoke-free for 6 months last year!! I know I can quit again, and I will. I’m aiming for tomorrow, although I think the weekend is a hard time to quit because Nick will be home more… and he’s definitely my partner in crime where the nicotine is concerned!! So, if the weekend proves too difficult, I’m going to give myself until Monday. And, if Monday doesn’t work… I’ll just keep trying until I get there!

The one thing that I don’t really have a plan for yet is the diet part. We are not the healthiest eaters here in the Witschey home… far from it. We eat tons of starches and carbs and veggies that are drowned in butter or cheese sauce! Nothing in my fridge is low-fat, and I know nothing about healthy cooking. So, that’s another goal. I need to come up with a plan for healthier eating, for our whole family.

I think that, once all of these things actually come together, I’ll be well on my way to accomplishing my “get healthy” goal. In many cases, taking that first step is the hardest… and I’m doing that now, slowly but surely. I just keep repeating to myself, “I wanna be like Trish!!!” (I love you, Momma!) 😉

This entry was posted in me, One Little Word 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Accomplish: The Health Edition

  1. Susan says:

    I am SO proud of you!!!! You can DO THIS!!!!!!!!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Yea, Erin! I am pulling for ya!!!!

  3. Trish says:

    I love you so much Erin! And Damn you, you made me cry! The only thing I wish is that we were closer to do it together, but even though we are 8hrs apart our hearts and little chubby legs will do this together.

    I am so proud of you, I can’t put it into words right now, because you made me cry. Typing with wet fingers is a task all in itself..lol.

    We are still partners in crime, but it will be the crime of becoming healthy and maybe buying some skinny jeans! 😉

    I know you can do this, if I can do it, you can do it. I am here if you need me, for anything. You know this.

    We will rock this, one day at a time, together, like always!

  4. Pingback: Far apart, but doing it TOGETHER! « Just The 6 Of Us

Leave a Reply

