Battling the bugs

If you’re a Facebook Friend of mine, you’ve already heard plenty about our recent battle with lice. It hasn’t been fun or pleasant… and it’s nothing I ever want to experience again, as long as I live.

I think I first treated Avery’s head 3 weeks ago. Everything seemed okay after that; she went back to school, I continued to check her head several times a day… the coast was clear. Or so we thought! Then, last week, I checked her head and wanted to cry when I found more evidence of critters in her hair. So, we did it all over again.

And then, around the same time, we found them in my hair. And I had a lot of hair. So I took it upon myself to cut my own hair, something like 15 inches, maybe?? I don’t recommend self-hair cutting, but I didn’t have much choice, really. I couldn’t exactly go to a salon with a head full of lice… and I couldn’t very easily treat my hair as long as it was!

Again, I thought Avery’s head was in pretty good shape… so she went back to school this week. Yesterday, not five minutes after Avery got to school, the nurse checked and found nits in her hair. So I got the dreaded phone call, and we had to pick her up.

Obviously we haven’t been aggressive enough in our fight against these annoying bugs.

So, last night, we got down to business. Everything that can be washed has been washed. Everything that can be bagged up for two weeks has been bagged up and thrown in the basement. New pillows have been bought. Beds have been sprayed. Everything has been vacuumed. All of our heads have been treated and combed through a million and twelve times. I am hoping and praying that this will work. As the school nurse said to me, “lice are not hazardous to your health in any way, shape, or form… they’re simply a nuisance.” Yes, that’s one word for them!! Every kid in Avery’s class has been checked; their lockers have all been inspected. Apparently, Avery is the only victim. Where she got these little guys from is anyone’s guess… the bus, maybe? I have no idea. I don’t even care. I just want them gone!!

The school nurse also gave me yet another lice treatment shampoo. We’ve tried three or four different ones already, but she gave us something else. It’s all-natural/chemical-free, so it can be left on your hair for quite some time. Therefore, shower caps are recommended. Avery has been looking forward to the shower cap all day! Because that’s the kind of kid she is!! She’s not upset she has bugs and that I’ve had to comb through her hair with itty bitty combs, ripping hairs out of her head left and right and nearly making her scalp bleed half the time… No, she’s simply excited about the shower cap!! God love her, right??

I put the shower cap on her head tonight, and she exclaimed with delight, “I look like a lunch lady!!!!”

I have to treat my head again tonight. But, unlike my sweet daughter, I’m not really looking forward to the shower cap/lunch lady look!

I know that we WILL win this battle eventually. I just hope it’s sooner rather than later. I’m a tired mom.

This entry was posted in Avery, motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Battling the bugs

  1. KimL141 says:

    ((hugs)) I’m glad Avery is in good spirits about this situation! Much better than a frustated Mom and a sad kiddo.

  2. Bridget =) says:

    hang in there Erin! I’ve actually heard that lice like clean surfaces (heads), so take comfort that your kid must have the cleanest head of the class – which is why they keep going back to her!!!

    XOXOXOXO

  3. Becki says:

    I remember going through that whole process at a kid. Hopefully Avery’s good attitude makes it a little easier to deal with. And I hope that the third time is a charm!

  4. Grampy (aka "Papa") says:

    Ha ha. . . Looks like a lobotomy patient — post or pre-op!

Leave a Reply

