Books make me happy

I haven’t bought myself any books in quite a while. For one thing, several months ago, I won a box o’ books from an author on Twitter. And, the same week, my dear friend Angie sent me a huge book o’ books… so my shelves are still overflowing with all of those goodies! And, I was also trying NOT to buy any more books because I really, really thought I’d be getting an eReader soon.

But, Friday night I was in need of a pick-me-up. And one of my favorite authors/series had a new release this week.* So, I found myself placing an order at Amazon. I love Amazon because every time I order from there, I end up with a free book and free shipping. Because it’s been so long since I’ve ordered books, there were several “next books” in series that I’ve been wanting to read for a while. So, I got them. My Amazon order should be here in a couple of days. It will include the following yummy books:

  • *Shift by Rachel Vincent (book 5 in the Shifters series)
  • Destined for an Early Grave by Jeaniene Frost (book 4 in the Night Huntress series)
  • Bone Crossed by Patricia Briggs (book 4 in the Mercy Thompson series)
  • Skykeepers by Jessica Andersen (book 3 in the Final Prophecy series)
  • Atlantis Awakening (book 2 in the Warriors of Poseidon series)

And, yesterday, while doing some birthday shopping, I stopped in at Barnes & Noble. Even though I’d just placed this Amazon order and didn’t really NEED more books, I couldn’t resist the pull to B&N!! Plus, I really wanted to try out the Nook, their eReader that I’ve been coveting.

I went straight to the customer service counter where the Nook was waiting for me. And I’m really surprised to say that I wasn’t all that impressed. I just knew that, after holding one in my hands, I’d be even more desperate to scrounge up $250 to get one of my own. But, that didn’t happen. It took me 5 minutes just to find the Power button. And when I finally did get the thing turned on, I really didn’t like the whole eInk technology thing. I just thought it was strange!! I also didn’t like the way the page got all goofy-looking and took a second to refresh when I turned the page… I kept thinking the batteries were going low because it looked that odd. I spent a few minutes trying to change the font size because I didn’t like that there were only a few sentences on each page. Only, after fighting with that for several minutes, I think it was already on the smallest font size, so that was discouraging, too. And, overall, it just felt awkward in my hands.

So, I was actually relieved that I didn’t love the Nook like I thought I would. The thought of spending $250 on an eReader made me cringe, and I don’t have the extra money right now even if I wanted to get one. I know that I WILL purchase an eReader of some type in the future, but I’m perfectly fine with old-fashioned, paper books for now!

Having come to that realization, I decided I needed to buy some more books while I was there (even though it would’ve been cheaper for me to come home and place another Amazon order… I couldn’t walk out of B&N empty-handed!). I purchased the following books (more “nexts” in some of my favorite series):

  • Archangel’s Kiss by Nalini Singh (book 2 in the Guild Hunter series)
  • Faefever by Karen Marie Moning (book 3 in the Fever series)
  • Magic Burns by Ilona Andrews (book 2 in the Kate Daniels series)
  • Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews (book 3 in the Kate Daniels series)

So, I think I’m good on books for a while!!

This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

