A Scrappy Day

I spent six hours today at my LSS (that’s “local scrapbook store” for you non-scrappers!) at an all-day crop. I’ve been looking forward to it all week… just getting that much time out of the house is heavenly, considering I rarely leave the house for anything other than a quick trip to the grocery store these days.

Also, Nick was hosting the final Pinewood Derby workshop for the Scouts this afternoon. I’ve been suffering through those every weekend this month, and I knew that I couldn’t handle another one! So, I was thrilled to find out that there was a crop at the LSS today. I love to scrapbook and I needed to be out of my house while the urchins invaded, so it was perfect!

I love my LSS. It’s such an awesome place. And ever since I discovered it over a year ago, I’ve wanted to go to a crop there. But, I’ve become such a homebody! I had a really hard time packing up my stuff last night, trying to decide what to take, what not to take, etc. It really is so much easier to just scrap at home, where you don’t have to pick and choose, where everything is right at your fingertips! When I go away to weekend crops, I just take everything with me. And that’s the norm, really. We all take everything and set up our areas and leave them that way for 3-4 days. It’s worth it in that case. But, just for a few hours? I couldn’t see hauling ALL of my junk for that… and, of course, what I decided to take did not inspire me in the slightest!

So, I didn’t get much done. I finished one measly layout, that I’m not at all happy with. I spent most of the day looking through idea books, wandering around the store, trying to get inspired. But it never really happened. And, before I knew it, it was time to pack up and head home.

Still, it was nice to get out of the house. Really nice to avoid the Cub Scouts and their woodworking. And it’s always fun to meet new people who love to create as much as I do!

I took a few pics today, of our crop area and of the store. These pics don’t do it justice… it’s a huge store with TONS of inventory. If I had unlimited funds, I’d love to go to a crop there one day and take only my photos, adhesive, and trimmer. I could buy everything else that I’d need, as I went. THAT would be fun stuff! But, when you’re on a tight budget, spending 6 hours in this store is a lot like torture!

This entry was posted in scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Scrappy Day

  1. Cheryl B says:

    That is a huge store. Wow. I’d probably not be able to get much done either just being overwhelmed with the product.

  2. Grampy (aka "Papa") says:

    I LOVE your blog, ‘roneous!!!!

  3. Joanne says:

    what an awesome store that you have! Please enjoy it Erin.. ours just closed down and I am simply heartbroken! They had a free crop every Monday that I just loved. ::sighs::

  4. Bridget =) says:

    omg that store is freaking awesom!!!!!!!! you are SO lucky!!!!

  5. I would be in total heaven there. All those aisles of paper and stickers–oooo!
    Even with all the digital options now, I still love old fashioned paper
    scrapbooking.

Leave a Reply

