Accomplish: Week 3

I thought about making a mid-week “Accomplish” post because I was very productive earlier this week, and I was afraid I’d forget everything by today. I was right. I should’ve made the post Wednesday…

I think it was Tuesday that I spent the entire day on the phone. This is significant and a huge accomplishment for me because I abhor the telephone. Well, not to talk to family or friends or fun people like that (I would love to talk to most of YOU on the phone!)… but to do anything “business-like,” I am terrified of the telephone. I usually beg Nick to make those types of phone calls if at all possible. For instance, if we need to call the cable company or the insurance company, Nick gets to do that. But there are several accounts of ours that are just under my name… and I cringe just thinking about it! So, Tuesday I took care of lots of little phone calls… of course, now, I can’t even remember who I called! But I know I was feeling awesome that afternoon because I got all of that done.

Wednesday morning I had a doctor appointment. This is also significant because I don’t generally see doctors. Not because I don’t love them and value my health, but because I am uninsured… and doctors are expensive. However, I’m also a little bit crazy (we’ve talked about that before), and if I don’t have happy pills, it’s not pretty. Not pretty at all. And, I’m almost in need of a new prescription for my happy pills. Therefore, I absolutely HAD to get myself to a doctor somehow, someway.

I had heard of a Family Medical practice here in town that discounts their services based on income, so I figured it couldn’t hurt to check it out. I went in Wednesday morning and acquainted myself with Josh, my friendly nurse practitioner. He was wonderful and thorough… asked me 563 questions about my medical history, scheduled blood tests for next week to make sure I’m as healthy as I appear, wrote me a Rx for my favorite happy pills, referred me to my favorite OB/GYN (who removed my left ovary 2 years ago) for a free (yay!) breast and cervical cancer screening, and then handed me off to the friendly benefits coordinator lady. Based on our sad little income, I’m required to pay 30% of my doctor visits, 50% of lab work, and I can enroll in a prescription assistance program and use their on-site pharmacy, which will make my happy pills dirt cheap.

I also found a FedEx shipping place here in town Wednesday and shipped off some work. The Godforsaken project that I’ve been dealing with for over two months is still ongoing… but it’s getting closer to completion, I hope!! Getting that off of my desk was a huge accomplishment!

And I’m still applying and testing for more editing jobs. Hopefully one of these days I’ll have an awesome new client to tell you about… but, for now, I’m trying to enjoy NOT having tons of work on my desk.

Speaking of having no work… when I have no work, I scrap! I’ve done lots of that this week.

I think I’m going to have to rework these weekly updates because they’re turning into novellas, and there’s really no rhyme or reason to them. Hmmm, I’ll have to think on this and let you know what brilliant ideas I come up with before next Friday!

This entry was posted in One Little Word 2010, scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Accomplish: Week 3

  1. Trish says:

    Erin, I am so proud of you! That is a lot to do in one week and you did it! I can’t wait to read next week’s!

Leave a Reply

