Old Skool

When we moved into our house 2 years ago, our landlord had left a whole lot of “stuff” in the basement. We’ve stored it for her for 2 years… but now that we’ve signed papers to buy the house, she finally decided to come haul away her junk. Our basement looks HUGE now, and Nick is loving that he can re-organize and fill it with our own junk!

One thing that she left behind was a blast from my past. I saw the box sitting downstairs and asked Nick, “is there really a Lite Brite in that box?!?!?!”

Sure enough, there was. And, amazing enough, it actually WORKS! And there was a cigar box full of the colored pegs… and even a package of Lite Brite refill papers/designs. Score!!

I told Avery that we found a toy for her… something that Mommy and Daddy used to play with when we were little. She was bursting with excitement. Then I said, “it doesn’t talk… and it’s not a computer,” and her face drooped a little. Funny that my children can’t imagine a toy like that, right??

So, anyway, I set it up and showed Avery how it worked, and she spent hours yesterday playing with the Lite Brite. When she was halfway through her first picture, she looked at me and said, “Mommy… what do you do with it when you’re finished??” Uhhh, nothing. You just look at it and say, “wow, what a pretty picture!” Then, you rip the pegs out and start all over. Isn’t that fun, Avery???

Actually, it reminds me a lot of the Pixos that my kids got for Christmas this year. The fun part is making them… then they just sit there and look cute.

This entry was posted in Avery. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Old Skool

  1. Trish says:

    OMG when she is done with it, save that and it could be worth money, especially since you have the original box 🙂

    We bought Adam Lite Brite for Christmas, I am still stepping on the pegs…Damn thing!

  2. Trish says:

    Oh an Erin you spelled School wrong! Bwahahahahaha!

  3. Erin says:

    I didn’t even know if they still made Lite Brites!! I was going to research that, but I guess they do if you got Adam one! 😉

    lol @ the spelling. yeah, yeah, but I spelled it wrong on PURPOSE… unlike someone I know… LOVE YA, TRISH!

  4. Diane says:

    I am soo sooo soo very jealous. So jealous in fact, that I am contemplating a drive to WV so I can play with it too!

  5. Donna Norris says:

    I LOVED my Lite Brite when I was a kid!

Leave a Reply

