Accomplish: Week Two

Hmmm. I’m not feeling very accomplished this week!

Honestly, I’m having a hard time coming up with ANYTHING that I accomplished since my last post!

I haven’t worked all week… I haven’t done much around the house… I haven’t even read very much, which is unheard of for me! I did scrapbook a little bit last weekend, so I should have a couple of layouts to share. But, other than that, wow, I’ve pretty much been a waste of space all week!

I did manage to get Avery to a doctor appointment Wednesday morning. It was just her annual well-check, since she recently had a birthday. I almost managed to mess that up because I forgot her insurance cards here at the house. I don’t know what I was thinking. Usually, I would’ve checked my purse six times before I left the house to make sure I had the insurance cards. But my mind was elsewhere, I guess. Luckily, they didn’t make me reschedule… the doctor just asked that I fax the cards to him ASAP. So, I had Mom fax them from work the next morning. Crisis averted.

Another thing that I guess I accomplished this week was getting all of our bills paid! We usually live in a constant state of being behind and trying to catch up… which is impossible, of course. And frustrating. And depressing. But every year we get a good bit of money for Christmas, and instead of buying big-screen TVs or a vacation in the tropics, Nick and I use our Christmas money to get our bills caught up. It isn’t glamorous; it’s certainly not FUN. But, it’s the responsible, grown-up thing to do, right? So we do it. And I did that this week. It always feels good to know that the cable or electric won’t be cut off anytime soon! We’re caught up for the first time in a long time. And I’m doing everything in my power to try and keep it that way… which means I’m taking possession of every dollar my husband makes before he has a chance to spend it and getting it to the bank before I have a chance to spend it.

Oh, and I can’t believe I almost forgot this one… this week, we BOUGHT A HOUSE! Uhh, yeah, that’s quite an accomplishment!!! We still haven’t signed the papers because they’re in a constant state of revision. But, I did write out a check for the very first mortgage payment. The first of 300! It makes me a little nauseous to think of it that way, so I won’t do that again, okay?!?! But I guess we’re officially homeowners now. And that’s a huge accomplishment for us… something I didn’t think we had any hope of doing anytime soon. I have a lot more to say about that, but I’ll have to save it for its own dedicated post!

I also applied for a few more freelance editing jobs this week. And was invited to test for one of the companies. I should hear back from them next Monday, so keep your fingers crossed that I can report adding a new client as an accomplishment for next week!

I guess it wasn’t a total waste of a week as far as accomplishments go. But I’m hoping next week will be better!

This entry was posted in One Little Word 2010, scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Accomplish: Week Two

  1. Becki says:

    Congrats on the house!

Leave a Reply

