Accomplish: Week One

This week I’ve accomplished the following:

Getting up, actually out of bed and functioning, between 5 and 6am… every day this week! Wowzer! That’s seriously some amazing stuff for this girl. I’ll admit that, on Wednesday, I put myself to bed for a nap at around 10am. And, Thursday, when I realized the kids didn’t have school, I went back to sleep for a while. But, even so, I was up again before long. And, I think I should get mad props for today… considering I knew school was canceled, so I have absolutely NO reason to get up this early. And Nick’s alarm went off at 5 ‘freakin am. That is crazy early for me. But I got up and made some coffee… and here I am… awake and functioning (it’s 5:51am as I type this, by the way).

Keeping the house semi-straightened every day. If you don’t know me very well, have never been to my house, and imagine that I’m an awesome housekeeper, then this probably won’t seem like such a huge “accomplishment.” But, if you do know me well, have EVER been to my house, and know damn well that I suck as a housekeeper, then you know this is a pretty big deal. I wouldn’t say I’ve been on top of everything or every room or every speck of dust this week… far from it, actually. BUT, I have made some kind of effort every afternoon or evening to go around the main areas of the house (excluding bedrooms… let’s not go there!) and at least straighten up a bit. That was my “baby step” for this accomplishment. I’m hoping that, by the end of 2010, I’ll have a better handle on my mad housekeeping skillz and that I’ll have implemented some kind of cleaning routine. But, baby steps…

Making the time to scrapbook! My goal was to set aside at least one hour every day for my favorite creative hobby. I failed miserably at that. I think I only managed it twice this week. But, still, that’s an improvement over every week in the last six months or so! Again, baby steps. I’ll get to my goal eventually, I’m sure. In the meantime, I’m happy to just be moving in the right direction. Here are the four layouts that I completed this week. (If you are acquainted with me online, in any way, shape, or form, you’ve probably already seen these… somewhere. So this is for the rare few of you who don’t fall into that category!)

Click on any photo above to see it larger and in more detail (and so you can read the fine print… Dad!).

My scrapbooking goal for next week? To create at least one layout featuring my son. Because I really DO have a second child and I really do love him just as much as his sister… but clearly, Avery likes my camera more than he does!

Solving a huge work problem that has had me stressed beyond belief for over a month! I won’t get into the details here (because I realize no one really cares or understands half of what I do), but I’ve been ridiculously stressed lately over a work project. And it’s hard being a freelancer, working at home, for a lot of reasons. One of those reasons is that I’m the most “out-of-touch” person involved with the project. The only information I have is what my Project Manager sees fit to give me… and apparently my current PM doesn’t think I need much info!! And, even though I’ve been trying to alert her to the fact that something’s seriously NOT RIGHT with this project for over a month now? She never gave me the benefit of the doubt. Instead, she’s been rude and bitchy and totally uncooperative. But, yesterday, I basically did HER job and solved the problem… hopefully redeeming myself and proving to her that I’m not incompetent, that I really do know how to do this job (and hers!) after 11 years. Party on, Garth!

I’m sure I’ve had other accomplishments this past week. I’ve cooked many meals (instead of wasting money eating out… another “goal” this year!); walked many dogs, or rather, walked two dogs many times!; read many pages of the Outlander saga (I’m on Voyager, book 3, for those of you playing along at home. Oh, and this is the second time I’ve made my way through this series… it’s quite an accomplishment to read all five billion pages of it once, let alone twice in one lifetime!).

I’m probably forgetting some other things that I wanted to mention this week, but for now, that’s all I got! I’m pretty pleased with what I did accomplish this week. Sure, there’s room for improvement… but, baby steps! πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in me, One Little Word 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Accomplish: Week One

  1. kate says:

    Sounds like you had a week moving in the right direction! It really is helpful to take it in baby steps. My gf, Kelly, harassed me about not living up to my OLW this week, but my reply that it was to try to live it daily but to have it truly incorporated by the end of the year. πŸ™‚

  2. Erin says:

    I think that’s absolutely right, Katie! It’s a year-long process… not something that we’re supposed to master the first week! What fun would that be?? ROFL

    I don’t even remember your word… I need to go look that up again!

  3. Trish says:

    You are doing awesome! I still have not done mine yet…lol! I am loving that you are scrapping!

  4. Maria says:

    Very much enjoyed the Wayne’s World reference!

    Side note–got an orange peeler from my MIL for Christmas and told Chad “An orange peeler? I don’t AN orange, let alone many oranges that would necessitate the use of an orange peeler.” Was pretty excited to throw out a Wayne’s World reference on Christmas!

  5. MommaC says:

    Love it! You know, the important thing is … you’ve grabbed these bulls by the horns … you may not be able to wrestle them all down at once, but you’ve got the grip! Hang on and you’ll get there! Very proud of you…

Leave a Reply

