A Word for 2010

I’ve never done this before, but for the past several years One Little Word has been a pretty big deal in the scrapbooking world. The idea is to choose a word for the year… from Ali’s blog: “Essentially the idea is to choose a word (or let it choose you) that has the potential to make an impact on your life.”

So this year, I decided to play along. Forget a list of resolutions that I won’t keep… One Little Word… how hard can that be, right?? 😉

I found that it’s REALLY hard. For over a week now, I’ve been agonizing over words, trying to figure out MY word for 2010. I wasn’t having much luck. There are lots of possible words, sure. I had a list as long as my arm of awesome, inspirational words… but nothing was really jumping out and calling to me, “Pick Me, Pick Me! Let me be your One Little Word for 2010!!!”

Then, Monday morning, it hit me. Like I was hoping it would all along… just like Ali said it might (she’s a genius, I tell ya!).

I woke up early Monday morning… early for me, anyway… at 6am, I think. I knew the kids had a 2-hour delay, so I could’ve easily gone back to sleep for a few hours. But, totally against my nature, I stayed awake and started my day early. I enjoyed a cup of coffee and some time on the computer… and even watched a little bit of the morning news, if you can believe that!

By 7am, they announced that school would be closed for the day. (Gee, I REALLY could’ve slept in now!) So, I made the kids a big breakfast… and I took Comet for a walk… and I sat at my scrap table and finished a layout that I’d been working on. And then I started to straighten the kitchen. I was cleaning off the counter, with a sponge in my hand, when I thought to myself how GOOD I felt. And I knew it was because I had gotten up early and started my day on a good note… and I was actually getting things done around the house. Not huge things, but THINGS! So many days pass by and I realize I haven’t done a thing all day! I thought to myself, “I feel like I’m actually accomplishing things today… I want to do this every day… I want to ACCOMPLISH [that’s when the lightbulb went off]  things in 2010!”

So, there you have it. My One Little Word for 2010 is Accomplish. There are lots of things I want to accomplish this year… big things, little things… I just want to feel like I’ve done something at the end of each day, maybe lots of somethings on a really good day!

I’ll be posting a lot about my One Little Word throughout the year and sharing some of my accomplishments with you, hopefully! My dear friend Trish, who is sooo much better at this digital design stuff than I am!, made this adorable badge for my “Accomplish” posts (Thanks, Trish!!):

So, what’s your One Little Word for 2010??

This entry was posted in me, One Little Word 2010. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Word for 2010

  1. stacey says:

    great word! happy new year!!

  2. sarah says:

    that sounds like an awesome word. i didn’t pick one this year because i didn’t know what to pick. 🙂

    thanks so much for stopping by my blog!

    hugs,
    sarah.

  3. lala362 says:

    Great word!! Great idea!!
    Can;t wait to hear your progress through the year!
    La-

  4. Trish says:

    Great post Erin! I am going to blog about mine tomorrow and make myself a badge too!

  5. Grampy (aka "Papa") says:

    My word is NAP

  6. Erin says:

    That just made me laugh out loud, Dad. That’s a GREAT word for you, old man! 🙂 Reach for the stars, why don’t you?? lol

  7. kate says:

    You are one prophetic lady! I totally see how this words fits you & your goals. Here is to one ACCOMPLISHED year for you!

  8. Pingback: One little word for 2010 « Just The 6 Of Us

Leave a Reply

