Christmas and a birthday

I officially finished my Christmas shopping tonight. And I even got all of Avery’s birthday gifts. I wanna know whose idea it was for me to give birth to a child the day after Christmas… that was VERY poor planning on someone’s part!! Up until now, it hasn’t really made much difference because Avery was too young to care that she didn’t have a big birthday party or that her birthday gifts were wrapped in  Christmas paper. But, she’s definitely old enough now to notice… on both counts!

I think I’ve come up with a solution for the party issue, though. Because Damon’s birthday is only a month after Avery’s, we decided this year to try having a joint party for the two of them, somewhere in between their birthdays. Today I booked the party place for the weekend before Damon’s birthday… so, Avery has to wait quite a while for the official celebration of her sixth birthday, but I think it’ll be worth the wait! She’s going to love having all of her friends there. And, really, with only 3 years between them… and now that the kids are in school together… they do have a lot of the same friends. So a joint party should be pretty nifty!!

I love the idea of having a party somewhere other than my house! It’s so much less stressful that way.

And, this Saturday, we’ll celebrate Avery’s actual birthday the way we usually do… with cake and gifts and her four favorite people in the world by her side. She’s an easy-to-please-kinda gal, luckily! 😉

Six years ago today was actually my due date when I was pregnant with Avery. I knew I wouldn’t be lucky enough to have a child on my actual due date, however… and, because she’s a Witschey, I pretty much knew I wouldn’t have her EARLY (God forbid one of these Witscheys ever give me a break! lol). But, I was a little preoccupied with preparing for Damon’s 3rd Christmas at the time. I was actually pleased to be able to spend all of Christmas at home with my little boy, knowing it would be the last holiday that we’d get to totally devote to him.

Now that seems like a lifetime ago!! Tonight there are two huge kids running through my house, anxiously awaiting Christmas morning. And I’m taking a (short) break from yelling at them to reflect and realize how very blessed I am.

This entry was posted in Avery, Damon, Holidays, motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas and a birthday

  1. Grampy (aka "Papa") says:

    Happy 6th B-Day A-Girl. . . All My Love — Wish I were there wichu!!!

Leave a Reply

