It begins…

Yesterday, as we were walking home from the bus stop, Damon says to me, “Mom, my girlfriend… Elizabeth… is gonna call me this afternoon.” I almost tripped over the sidewalk under my feet but managed to stay upright and calmly replied, “Oh, uhhh, okay.”

Apparently he gave Elizabeth our phone number yesterday, and she then told him how her number would come up on caller ID so that we’d be sure to answer it (that made me giggle… I guess it’s standard procedure for kids today? to give their phone number and their caller ID name??).

So, at 4:30 on the dot (exactly when she said she’d call), our phone rang. And, sure enough, it was Elizabeth’s caller ID. Damon was sitting in the middle of the living room, playing Legos with his sister with the phone right next to him when she called. So, he answered and casually said, “Oh, hey, Liz.”

Liz??? He’s on a nickname basis with this chick?? They’re EIGHT. Breathe, Mom, breathe. I did. I breathed. I managed to maintain a cool, calm, “whatev” exterior. Damon never knew how freaked out his old mom was by the afternoon’s events.

Honestly, I think it’s kinda cute. And it brought back memories of when I was in Sixth Grade and my little “boyfriend” called me, without fail, every evening… and we talked for HOURS every evening. I think it’s cute and sweet… but I guess I didn’t think it would happen this soon. At eight. And I didn’t think he’d be calling her “Liz” with such familiarity. He’s still my baby boy. *sniff, sniff*

So, right now, Damon is on the phone with Liz… second day in a row. And yesterday’s 3-minute conversation has now turned into a 20-minute conversation… that’s still ongoing. It sounds like they’re watching TV together and discussing what they see. Oh, young love.

And, if Liz breaks my baby’s heart, I might have to hurt her.

This entry was posted in Damon, motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It begins…

  1. Emily says:

    They were watching the same show and talking on the phone about it!! LOL Not that you and I were in love or anything but I do remember talking on the phone as we watching Santa Barbara and Dance Party USA together…things really don’t change much.

  2. Erin says:

    We weren’t in love, Emily?? Now I’m hurt; I thought we were! lol

    I know, I know… they’re doing normal “kid” things. But it’s still WEIRD to me! He’s still so young!!

  3. Carrie says:

    Loved this post! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

