Blog crisis

I’m sure it hasn’t gone unnoticed that I don’t blog as much as I used to. I keep thinking I’m just in a slump (it’s happened before), and that I’ll get back into it soon enough. But I’ve been doing some thinking about this lately, and now I’m wondering if there isn’t actually more of a reason for my blogging issue.

It’s easy to say, “I just don’t have anything interesting to blog about right now.” But, I think it’s closer to the truth to say that I have TOO MUCH to blog about. Yet, I’m not sure that any one audience cares too much about any of it!!

I started this blog 4 years ago simply thinking it would be a nice and easy way to post pics of and stories about my kids… for our long-distance loved ones. And I still love the fact that it serves that purpose. But, the kids and my sorry attempt at motherhood aren’t the only things I like to blog about. So, this blog quickly turned into a home for a hodge-podge of things, which is probably a fair representation of my crazy, unorganized, muddled up life!

I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis, all different types of blogs: mommy blogs, craft blogs, book blogs, scrapbooking blogs, editing blogs… to name a few. And I’m starting to think it would be nice to have a “type” of blog. I love to blog about books, but I don’t do too much of that here because I consider my audience (the ones I know of, anyway!) and think that my dad and my granny probably really don’t CARE what I’ve read and what I thought about it. Same goes for scrapbooking, editing, etc.

So, tonight I was thinking that maybe I’ll start a second blog that’s just for book-related stuff… maybe I’ll finally join the oodles of book bloggers out there. And I got excited about that possibility. Until I had another thought… “maybe I should start another blog that’s just for scrapbook-related stuff and join my oodles of scrapbook friends who blog mostly about scrapbooking!” And then another thought… “how about a work/editing blog!” You get the point. I would love to have a blog about ALL of those things, but I really don’t want to keep up with four different blogs. And, just in case there are a few of you who read regularly who LIKE the hodge-podge of different things here, I don’t want you to have to check four blogs instead of one.

So, now I’m even more lost and confused and have no idea what to do about this blogging problem of mine. I guess if I were cool enough to have my own Web site, I could separate it into sections, right? But I’m not that cool. I use free WordPress, and I don’t want to become a “real” Web site developer, really.

What’s a blog girl to do??

This entry was posted in blog. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blog crisis

  1. trish says:

    Here’s some disjointed thoughts. πŸ™‚

    On the one hand, consciously putting yourself in a niche somewhat limits you. Theoretically. One thing you want to think about is how much do you have to say about that one subject? Me, I could talk for days about books, BUT I talk about other random non-book related stuff too. I try not to limit myself because I don’t want to only be a book blog.

    I really like blogs that are focused on one thing but go off on different tangents on a somewhat regular basis. So, if you had a “book blog”, I’d love to see the occasional post on scrapbooking, the occasional post about your kids, etc. Obviously that’s pretty much in line with what my blog is. πŸ˜€

    Ultimately, I think you should go with what you have a passion for. If it’s a few different things, then post it all on the same blog! Folks who like books but not scrapbooking can skip the scrapbooking posts, you know?

  2. Kerry D. says:

    If it’s any help, I enjoy the hodge-podge. But maybe that’s because I’m a hodge-podgey kind of person myself.

  3. Carrie says:

    I just love to read what you write….you have a way with words! It doesn’t matter what the subject is to me…although I do love to catch up on Damon and Avery this way as often as possible! I read your posts whether they are about books, or scrapbooks, or runaway dogs…I love it all!

  4. Cricket says:

    I’m a hodge podge kinda blogger too…scrapbooking, sewing, baking, my family etc…I have trouble with keeping just one blog LOL, let alone committing to various blogs! I figure if my post isn’t of interest to someone (say they like scrapbooking only and don’t want to read about my daughter etc..) they will just not read that one….

    I like to read all different things on blogs, I think it’s more fun that way!

    Blessings,

  5. Kate says:

    Ok, my 2cents….I love your hodge podge of a blog. The little snippets of your life keep me in tune to who you are and I thoroughly enjoy the humor in which you write. All selfish of me, of course.

    I totally see you doing a separate book blog. Again, I am constantly looking to you for recommendations and whitty banter about books.

    I am sure this didn’t help. πŸ™‚

  6. sarah says:

    maybe you should have a page for all of those things you listed under one blog. πŸ™‚

    wordpress allows you to have multiple pages so you can blog about diff things on separate pages. πŸ™‚ hope that helps.

    either way, i think you should write about what YOU want to write about it! πŸ˜‰ that’s what bloggins is for — documenting stuff that means somethings to you! πŸ™‚

    Hope that helps just a tad. hehe

    Hugs,
    sarah.

  7. jessica*bree says:

    I so struggle with this too! I think having 2 diff blogs can be cool… like a personal life blog for family and friends to know about you and the kids and separate blog that is about something. But I get that the something is hard to choose just one of!

    Or it could be a family blog (more about the kids, photos, general events) and a YOU blog – what you are reading, what you are scrapping, sites you love, random thoughts. That would be what I would read for sure all the time since it would be more what YOU are thinking about and your fam would love the family blog since that would be more about the kids and such. And you don’t have to share both site with everyone, KWIM?

    And if you ever do decide to spend some money (I finally sucked it up and did) Typepad lets you have multiple sites. It does make it easy peasy, but even with free stuff I think two sites could work!

  8. Tonia says:

    ooh honey! please don’t try to keep up with 4 diff. blogs!! mine is a mix, too, and i’ve never given it too much thought. sometimes i blog a lot, other times, not so much…mostly scrapping, kids, our lives…definitely nothing to stress about! just do it when you can, how you can, and enjoy it! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  9. I think once you have more than 1 or 2 blogs, it becomes work, not fun blogging. Just my thought. Having one blog is sublime–all the pieces become larger than the whole, in a sense… and once you fragment that, you might start to worry about “doing enough,” at which point, for me, it would be work… and I try to avoid work as much as possible. πŸ™‚

  10. Grampy (aka "Papa") says:

    WE DON’T CARE WHAT YOU WRITE ABOUT — but I sense that Facebook has diverted your attention from blogging. . . I LOVE your blog — and the “hodgepodge” of writing is even more important than the pics (‘tho they are indispensable to absentee relatives for keeping track of the development of your spore). . . So quit whining about your existential dilemma — and just blog MORE!

    P.S. I’m deeply hurt that you think I don’t care what you’re reading. (I care — I just don’t recognize any titles — or the genre(s) (plural of genre???) they represent. blah blah blah

  11. Tammi says:

    Here is my two cents: love reading your blog. And I like the fact that I’m never sure what I’m going to see: stuff about your kids, scrapping, books, etc. You write so wonderfully and often having me giggling as I’m reading. Please keep it up!!!!

    Tammi

  12. MommaC says:

    I fully understand this pickle…that’s why my blog never really went anywhere. But, the truth is, it would feel like a loss if you stopped posting your stories and photos. It is a real treat to see what you’ve written. I’m always amazed at what event it is that has inspired you to write, and I love the way each story becomes introspective, a tool for self-improvement (although there isn’t much room for improvement in the nearly-perfect). Regardless of your choice, I’ll be reading about you!

    Love ya! Momma C

Leave a Reply

