Read-A-Thon: Hour -1

I actually woke up before my alarms starting going off this morning. Amazing, considering I am the anti-Morning Person and… uhhh, it’s Saturday!!

I went to bed late last night (i.e., almost 2am), and was awakened a few short hours later (by my husband, snoring not-so-gently on the couch), and then another 1.5 hours later (having a nasty allergy attack; one of these days I’m going to ban Lizzie the Evil Min Pin from my bed… for reals).

So, I’m up. I’m here. I’m sleepy already, before the fun even begins, but I’m here. Drinking hot chocolate. Eating chocolate-frosted Hostess Donettes (courtesy of snoring hubby; he’s forgiven!). I’m also showered and wearing some comfy (but clean!) jammies to start the day. And the darkness is finally beginning to fade outside my window.

In 4.5 hours, my basement is going to be taken over by loud, energetic Cub Scouts. Nick is hosting the first Pinewood Derby Workshop of the year from noon ’til 4pm. Oh, goody!! I plan to hide somewhere else in the house, under a blanket with a flashlight, book, and maybe some Donettes. But it’s possible that I’ll have to take a short break from reading sometime this morning so that I can do some last-minute straightening around the house before the boys invade.

I definitely see a nap in my future. But, for now, I’m anxiously awaiting Read-A-Thon start time… 27 minutes to go! I’ll be back to update in a couple of hours, and I’ll be Tweeting a lot today, too. Happy reading to all of my fellow ‘thonners!

This entry was posted in books, Read-A-Thon. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Read-A-Thon: Hour -1

  1. Marg says:

    It’s almost inevitable that you will wake up before your alarm if you are excited about something!

    Enjoy your readathon!

  2. I always have trouble going to sleep early when I have to wake up early! While I went to sleep at normal time (for me) I still feel super tired. Good luck today!

  3. Eva says:

    Welcome to the read-a-thon! Enjoy these first few hours-they’ll fly by! I’m sure you’ll do great. πŸ˜€

    Awesome beating your alarm! I hit snooze for 9 minutes, lol.

  4. Becki says:

    Good luck Erin. Happy reading!

  5. alitareads says:

    Happy Read-a-Thon day! I hope the first few hours have been treating you well. Have fun today and enjoy the wonderful books you have lined up πŸ™‚

    I woke up earlier than expected today, too. Just too excited about read-a-thon day, I guess!

  6. Carol says:

    Saw your pinpoint on the map. Looks like we’re pretty close, actually. Have fun! I woke up before my alarm, too, but managed to get back to sleep.

  7. opicana says:

    Happy Reading!

  8. softdrink says:

    Traditional read-a-thon blessing:

    May the bookshelf be there to greet you.
    May all the books appeal.
    May the fridge be full of tasty snacks;
    the words fall soft upon your eyes and until the read-a-thon ends,
    may you always hold a book in the palm of your hand.

    Good luck today!

Leave a Reply

