Honoring Dewey Mini-Challenge

Dear Dewey,

I’m sad to say that I never had the chance to know you. I only discovered the world of book blogs earlier this year and participated in my first Dewey’s 24-hour read-a-thon last April. But even though I didn’t have the pleasure of knowing you firsthand, I know that your legacy certainly lives on for hundreds of booklovers around the world. This event that boasts your name just keeps growing and growing… and getting better and better!

The ladies who organize and run this event every 6 months do a phenomenal job keeping it going/growing… and of always remembering you and your passion and sharing that with the rest of us, making us feel like we knew you personally.

I know that, today, you’re somewhere, looking down on all of us with a smile on your face and a stack of books by your side. And I hope you’re proud of this wonderful thing that you started, bringing readers from all walks of life, all over the world together for 24 hours to share their love of the written word. Today, we read, we cheer, we blog, we Tweet, we drink massive amounts of caffeine,  we lose sleep, we laugh, we make fun of Nicholas Sparks, we make new friends… and, most of all, we remember you.

Happy Reading, Dewey!

This entry was posted in Read-A-Thon. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Honoring Dewey Mini-Challenge

  1. Eva says:

    I love that you chose to address your post directly to her. Beautiful. 🙂

  2. Tracie Yule says:

    This is a beautiful letter. This is my first year participating and I’m amazed at the community and togetherness. It’s been great so far. Next year, I will go from cheerleader to reader 🙂

  3. Care says:

    YES! Hip Hip Hurray (uh oh,that doesn’t look like it’s spelled right.) Great post, beautiful. Happy Reading to you!

  4. Valerie says:

    Nice tribute! I, too, did not know Dewey, but wish I had.

    Hope you are enjoying the readathon, it sure is going by fast!

  5. CeeCee says:

    I wish I had too. Your letter to her is beautiful. I wonder if they are collected for her family to read.

Leave a Reply

