Wildlife… in town

My friend Sarah lives out in the country. Way out in the country.

Sarah is used to seeing wildlife out her window… in fact, she shoots deer in her backyard frequently during hunting season. I guess that’s better than marching through the woods and actually hunting down an animal. Although I’m not sure it could really be considered “hunting” when the animal comes right to your back door. But, I digress.

When Sarah was at my house last month, I made a comment about how Comet takes off chasing after deer when we let him outside at night. She looked at me incredulously and said, “Deer?? You have deer in your yard, here? In town??”

Why, yes. We do have deer. In our yard. Here. In town.

And just in case a backyard full of deer poo isn’t enough proof for you… how about this…

030

Two mornings ago, when I got home from taking the kids to school, I jumped out of the car, walked around to our sidewalk, and found myself face-to-face with her.

We stood still and stared at each other for a few seconds, and then I quietly took a step away and walked to the house. She took a few steps away, deeper into the backyard, and continued to feast. Of course, I came back out with my camera.

035

036

033

That night, Nick and I were standing out on our front porch when she appeared again. This time with two babies following her. They walked right near us and then continued across the street and through our neighbor’s yard. It was maybe the cutest thing ever.

So, yes, we do indeed “have deer.” Even in town. They don’t call West Virginia “wild and wonderful” for nothin’!!

This entry was posted in Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wildlife… in town

  1. Totally amazing and wonderful! šŸ™‚

  2. Trish says:

    Bwahahaha…Deer Poo! Just kidding! Great shots Erin, I can’t seem to get that close to photo the deer that are standing next to the highway as cars fly past at 65 miles an hour ROFL!

Leave a Reply

