Grateful

Today was Pay Day for Nick. I met him for lunch so that we could cash his check and then I could head to the bank with it. Of course, the check (and then some!) was spent before it even made it into our checking account. And this made Nick very grumpy. I know it’s frustrating that he works his tail off at two jobs and we still struggle to make ends meet. And, although I’m not usually the “glass is half full” type, I found myself giving Nick a pep talk this afternoon… telling him that things could be much worse for us.

Then, when I made it home from the bank, I took Comet for a walk around the neighborhood. And I swear I had a smile on my face the whole time… just enjoying the sights and sounds along the way.

I know it’s not Thanksgiving yet, but today I wanted to share some of the things that I’m grateful for… in an attempt to ward off the Pay Day Blues.

*The sound of blowing leaves scraping against the road… there’s something so utterly Fall-like about that sound.

*The leaves are finally starting to change color here in the Hills; they’re gorgeous.

*Comet’s wagging tail. The dog is always happy to be alive; he’s too stupid to know any better. Gotta love that!

*Silly banter with a friendly neighbor. After Comet did what he’s supposed to do on a walk, I (being the good neighbor that I am) picked it up in a grocery bag. I turned around to find a neighbor standing in the driveway behind us, watching with a grin on his face. He said, “What do you have in that bag?” I laughed and said, “Would you like it?? I’ll gladly pass it on to you, Sir!” He chuckled and said, “Noo, that’s okay… I was just joking.” (Well, duh, I kinda figured that!) Still, laughing and chatting with a total stranger made me feel lighter on my feet the rest of the way home.

*Nick’s Wednesday night DJ gig has been canceled… that’s one thing he’s bummed about because it was nice “extra” money for us in the middle of the week. But, I’m glad that it’s another evening we all get to spend together. It wasn’t too long ago that Nick was on the road and gone all the time… and I’m still grateful each and every day that he’s here with us again. I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of that!

There are more things I could list, but it’s time to go get the rugrats from school. Maybe, if my unusually positive outlook remains, I’ll post some more later! (But don’t worry, I’m sure I’ll return to my usual morose state before long… so you don’t have to get too used to this obnoxious, happy Erin!)

This entry was posted in me, randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

